We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like they say”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfly Camping Resort
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Save your money don't come here especially with the lollllly pop flash light hunt in 5 sec it's over wow that some activity and don't for get your bug spray bugs all over because they don't pick up the leaves. Don't go they say the other campground is rude I think they have the wrong campground

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gary4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Camping Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went there and they had a haunted walk through the woods and. It was great.. I was really surprised that it was so good.. Will be back.. The owners where very nice.. Had a very good time..I wish they had better games in the game room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toak1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just spent a wonderfull weekend at Butterfly. My wife and I took out 3 year old granddaughter and spent parts of three days in one of their deluxe cabins. The cabin was great - extremely clean and well constructed - quality was evident. The bathroom had a shower and was very easy to use. The sites seem very big with lots of room, even with your vehicle on the site. The common bathrooms and showers on the site were very clean and and as nice as I've ever seen in any campground. The camp store was well stocked and the staff - from the owners to all the extra help - were very friendly and accommodating.

There was a pond with fish (our granddaughter caught her first sunny after fising for about 30 seconds), frogs, turtles, etc. We found the "rules" to be the same as any campground, despite what other reviewers have mentioned.

All in all we had a great experience and will come back again. Our daughter and my wife's sister have camped here before and their recommendation was spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was very uneasy about going camping 10 minutes from my house, but my niece and her family kept their camper here for the summer and they wanted us to come and her mom and boyfriend were coming with their camper also....We checked in on August 29, 2012 and stayed until Sept 3, 2012. I couldn't get over what a beautiful clean place. The owners Patti and Don were absolutely wonderful. Don was non stop cleaning the sites, I can't tell you how many times a day they cleaned the bathrooms, the pool was beautiful and the store was fully stocked. The maintenance was even awesome. My niece wanted to ride the coin operated ride but it wouldn't take the quarter, within seconds the maintenance man was there to fix it. Our campsite was very clean and spacious. All and all it was just a great weekend!!! We will be back there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

In the beginning we loved the campground. We found the sites a little small and the "lake" is actually a swamp, but we loved the pool, the cleanliness of the washrooms and the hiking trail for the dogs. Unfortunately, part way through our stay we discover ticks all over the dogs (over 100). We treated the dogs, removed the ticks, and opted to stay of the hiking trail. We soon discovered that the ticks weren't only on the trail but all over our site. The dogs were covered again and I found 8 ticks on me. I had to go to the hospital for help with removal and my dog needed antibiotics. I have left 3 messages for the manager (Patti) but she refuses to speak to me. Apparently they don't feel the need to post warnings or spray the grounds. They also have ridiculous charges for late check-out and very poor management skills. They wouldn't even allow us to return a bundle of firewood after we opted to stay inside our camper to avoid the ticks. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS POORLY MANAGED RESORT UNLESS YOU WANT LYME DISEASE. The place should be re-named Tick Camping Resort.

Room Tip: There are ticks everywhere. Stay away to stay safe.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 1414_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spending the weekend with grandparents and other family and we are having a great time. We had some rude campers near us yesterday and the staff enforceed the zero tolerance for that behavior. All other campers very nice. Showers, pool and everything is very clean. Will recommend to all of my fellow camper friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campingfamily1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Cabin extremelly dirty, spider webs over the bunk beds, uncomfortable beds, dusty. Althougth we enjoyed the pool, everything else was terrible. Snack bar closed over the whole weekend in high pick season, mini golf close also. The owners kept yelling at the kids for small things like swimming with your shirt on... And the worst experience was the check out. We got mixed up about the time and were late 40 minutes. They wanted to charge extra. I asked if we could pay extra and use the pool a little longer, the answer was "NO, YOU HAVE TO LEAVE!". When I asked for a suggestion or complains box, I was told WE WERE NOT WELCOME THERE ANYMORE IF WE WANTED TO COMPLAIN! (gasp!). I've never experienced anything like that! Unprofessional, rude, specially Patty, probably one of the owners. Overall, horrible experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunnywestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Robbinsville
5.9 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,263 reviews
11.9 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Days Inn East Windsor/Hightstown
10.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
Radisson Hotel Freehold
#1 of 2 in Freehold
980 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn East Windsor
Hampton Inn East Windsor
#1 of 5 in East Windsor
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Camping Resort

Address: 360 Butterfly Road, Jackson, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Family Camping Fun is what we are all about here at Butterfly Camping Resort. Don & Patty and staff are dedicated to providing the best service and clean facilities to make each family camping trip a memorable one. We are proud that our park continues to be one of the highest rated parks in New Jersey. We offer large, level, and shaded sites with picnic tables and fire rings. All sites also includes FREE Real Cable AND Wifi! Just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure Theme Park and Safari. We also offer Six Flags Great Adventure Theme Park tickets for our customers at greatly reduced prices! If you like the water, Atlantic Ocean's Jersey Shore Beaches are just a short ride away. See the list of the many other attractions in the Jersey's Shore Region. The resort is located adjacent to the Butterfly Bogs State Wildlife Refuge where you can fish, canoe or use non-powered boats to idle your time away. This Natural area offers a unique chance to observe and photograph the flora and fauna in a protected habitat. Stop by our fully stocked camp store for just about anything you need! Fire wood, Ice, food, and propane are available for your convenience. We have planned activities rain or shine. Free arts and crafts, games, music & dances, Tough Mudder, bingo, wet & wild weekends, free dunk tank & playground, three acre baseball field, basketball & sand volleyball, shuffleboard, horse shoes, ping pong & free wagon rides, pig roast, steak dinners & breakfasts or just sit back and relax on your site, fishing & hiking in adjacent Butterfly Bogs State Wildlife Refuge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butterfly Camping Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing