We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Doesn't quite meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't quite meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here several times on business, the most recent time in June. It was mid-week and we arrived late (11.45pm) due to a delayed flight. One reason for choosing Marriott and the 'Renaissance' brand is that usually you can get a late meal or beer if your travel plans changed. Really disappointed to find that that restaurant/bar was already close and no room service available. Rooms are standard and gym is adequate but for $200/night you tend to expect a little more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    152
    93
    33
    28
See reviews for
76
45
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great room, very spacious. Bed was comfortable. Pool was clean and a decent size. Overall great value for the area.

Only down point was irregular room cleaning. Had to request our room be cleaned one day which should not be needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the great comments and the feedback. We are always trying to upgrade the guest experience. Really sorryyou had to call for housekeeping service. Make sure you let us know when you are coming back and we will be sure to exceed every expectation.

At your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel if you're in the area for family gatherings, meetings, or other non-tourist reasons. It's close to the airport, on major local roads, and has nice suites to spend time with the family. Staff was friendly and breakfast included in some rates which is rather good. Overall pleasant and comfortable stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. If you find yourself in the Hotel again ask for me. I and my staff will help you discover some of the local places to sip, savour and see. We have a lot of hidden gems and are happy to help folks find them.

At your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I decided to spend the weekend hear with my 8 and 12 year old and it was a big mistake, Sunday they have this big party at the outdoor pool a lot of alcohol and not appropriate behavior environment for family, we couldn't use the pool and also they were charging for it.
Renaissance it is a brand that they should take care of it,t he hotel is very nice, business oriented the service at the restaurants was very good, but again Sunday's party at the pool destroys all the quality of the hotel. I saw more complaints about this here but it seems that the hotel is not doing anything about that. Definitely not coming back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Sunday event. we do have a series of events by our pool this summer. we try to provide something for everyone. On Fridays we are doing happy hour by the pool our pool bar is open and we are playing low key music for everyone. Anyone is invited to lounge or sit in a cabana and have snacks and drinks. it is very mellow from 4 to 8. on Saturday we have a family day flaoting toys , frozen drinks ( alchohol or non alchol) we even have a snow cone machine. From 4 to 7 we have a local singer songwriter playin his guitar and singing very laid back stuff. this event is for hotel guests and great for families. there is a full menu available and lots of seating. On Sundays we do a DJ dance party from 2 to 7. though this is more of an adult themed event everyone is invited. This event is not sponsored by the hotel we are just providing the Food and Beverage. If you are a hotel guest you never have to pay any admission for any events. We do are best to be sure that language and music are PG and that atire is beach appropriate. We always reserve the olympic indoor pool as a quiet no alchohl area. During the week we provide lounge chairs and cabanas for guest use on a first come first serve basis and provide food and beverage through room service for hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Iselin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The furnishings are modern, the rooms well appointed and the room service cheap/tasty

HOWEVER

It is let down by its location, next to a busy loud road and not really near anything (well, there is a mall across the road but its fairly basic). The pool area, which is newly refurbished is disappointing. The loungers are uncomfortable and the towels are old and frayed.

Whilst the decor is trendy/modern, it still manages to feel a little "cheap". In addition the air conditioner in my room was so loud I couldn't keep it on in the night time!

Not a bad hotel at all but not somewhere I would personally choose again...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Though the location seems somewhat isolated we are constantly searching our area for new discoveries around food , beverage , sight seeing and shopping. our navigators have a great library of local favorites to help you get the most our of your stay.
our large indoor and outdoor pool are a great attraction and get alot of use. i aplogize if there we did not meet your expectations. Your comment on the towels was timly and we have ordered a new supply that has just arrived.

We are constantly upgrading and enhanceing our amenities and decor from our new covered outdoor patio to original local artwork.I would certainly not describe anything in our Hotel as cheap but if you would like to contact me directly at the Hotel i would love to get additional detail on your vist

at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, and offers plenty of good restaurants nearby. Staff is warm and friendly and someone was always there to greet you. Hotel is a bit rundown and is showing some signs of age. It is not a bad hotel, but for the price I feel the quality could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. we are constantly working on upgrading our rooms and amenities to enhance the guest experience.We are currently adding new bedding and upgraded towles to the rooms and are just finishing installing new JBL stereo docking stations in every room.

We just finished our new out door covered patio and are constantly ehancing our artwork . We have also added some great live music on selected weekdays and weekends.

Please come back again and discover our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are thinking about booking to stay here over the weekends, they have a Las Vagas style pool party from 10am to 6pm. The pool cant be used to relax(unless you want to join in)The music plays for the 8 hours and it's loud. The windows of the rooms, especially those on the pool side of the hotel vibrate, anything not fixed in the room vibrates. It's impossible to get any sort of rest or work done. The music drowns out the TV in your room. Hours of unwanted music is certainly not conducive to a relaxing time.

The management are less then interested and dismissed my complaint, without an apology or offer of an other room away from the noise. The general manager who was in the hotel couldn't even be bothered to see me when I asked to speak to him, preferring to stay with his family rather than addressing customer concerns. He should remember those customers keep him in a job.

Avoid the hotel on a Sunday

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the pool area as possible, especially on a Sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyeruk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We apologize to you and our other British Airways crew that stay at the hotel regularly. There was an event from 2 to 7 on that sunday which did get much louder than we expected. There are events on Saturday and Sunday at the pool through the summer. Saturday is a more laid back family thing with a local singer songwriter playing from 4 to 7. Sunday we do have a more lively event with a very active pool bar scene from 2 to 7 with a disc jockey but we have toned the volume way down so has not to disturb the other guests. For our flight crews we are being extra careful to put all your rooms on the side of the hotel away from the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iselin
0.8 mi away
APA Hotel Woodbridge
APA Hotel Woodbridge
#2 of 3 in Iselin
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
#1 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Woodbridge Edison/Raritan Center
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Property: Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
Address: 515 US Highway 1 S, Iselin, NJ 08830-3010
Location: United States > New Jersey > Iselin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service enables your travels to become productive and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Hotel Iselin
Sheraton Iselin
Iselin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing