We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Since my last visit the hotel has undergone some refurbishments and changed its name from a Sheraton to a Renaissance. The refurbishments have brightened up the reception, restaurant, rooms and hallways. The rooms are fine, if a little dark. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were lumpy. The bathroom was compact with a full size tub and good toiletries. The whole hotel is satisfactory rather than great. The tv reception was poor on a few channels including the Travel Channel. There was no minibar, just a coffee maker.
The hotel lays on a shuttle service to nearby shopping malls and is close enough to walk to the Woodbridge Mall and several chain style restaurants.
My only other comment is about the staff. I have stayed at several 'chain' hotels recently where the service has been excellent. Here it seemed as though the staff just did their job - no more. Not many smiles. Perhaps this was because I stayed between Christmas and New Year when they might have been short-staffed.
All in all it is a satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 506 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here as a base for day trips to NYC. it's a nice hotel but missing the finer details for a property of this Catagory.

The Internet is a pain to stay connected to. I had to call tech support to authorize my iPhone, iPad, and laptop, at least 3 times during a 3 night stay. Even once calling tech support they were too busy to take my call and asked me to call back in 10.

The rooms have been updated from an older property, and look pretty good. It's the finer details such as things like the doors appear to be over-painted and the hangers were coming loose. The could remedy this with new doors.

The pool is very strict with regards to only allowing their own food and drink. (pretty petty IMO)
The plumbing seems a bit tired and slow, which was causing a back up in my tub as the room next door was showering. I spoke with the front desk and they sent up engineering, regrettably it was still slow draining throughout my stay..

The beds are fantastic and clean. Guest services were friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet each day, and the food and service was outstanding. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Higher floor to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmusic4ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Rensaissance on a business trip. Having spent some time there a few years ago (and not being impressed) I was not looking particularly forward to my visit.

However when I walked into the lobby I couldn't believe the transformation the place has undergone. It seems the entire hotel from lobby to bar/restaurant to rooms have had a makeover.

In most areas it is a typical US suburban chain hotel that does it's job well. Where it excels though is the service of its staff who are fantastic and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and valued. An example of this: they run a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the mall. One morning the 10am bus had broken down and the next bus was 11:30am. Instead of keeping the guests waiting until 11:30am the resident manager who happened to be at the front desk and overheard the situation insisted on shuttling the guests that were delayed to the mall in his own car right away.

Every dealing I had with every staff member from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping was a pleasant one. Special mention to the resident manager, the man that makes the omlettes in the morning and Austin on the front desk. Top rate.

Rooms the standard fare: Quiet, comfortable bed, fast wifi. Only thing lacking for me was a room safe (perhaps it was well hidden?) and a refrigerator.

I had breakfast each day in the restaurant. Great buffet with made-to-order eggs/ommlette.

The hotel also has an indoor/outdoor pool and a small yet function fitness room with new gym equiment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Here for only a 2 night stay, choice of hotel changed because of Hurricane Sandy, too far away from Manhatten but very good Mall 5 minutes away. Room was clean and very comfy bed. 2nd night was spoilt because of the hotel having a special event for teenagers, who basically were loud, obnoxious and all deserved a good kick up the backside, security were good and came to the room beside us very quick and I gather they got several complaints, due to this it would be unfair to mark the hotel on sleep quality. Excellent shuttle bus that will take you to the Mall or to the station where you can get the train to Penn and all the sights and delights of Manhatten. Excellent reception staff. Restaurant quite good, but a very limited menu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bajandream_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The dated room smelled horrible when the air freshener spray wore off. Used linens were never removed from the hallways during my two day stay. Nasty piles everywhere on carpets that were full of refuse. They never used the big vacuum that was also left in the hallway for two days. Had to walk down the stairs because elevator was broke. Only my fractured foot is on a cast and I'm using crutches. They didn't care. They were so observant I received a room furthest from the elevator and stairs while the closer rooms were empty. More to walk on crutches

The desk staff is not empowered to make changes only excuses

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyk429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hurricane Sandy has affected millions across the tri-state area. After 6 days without power we were incredibly fortunate to check into a hotel. We are four adults and booked a junior sweet -- one king bed and then a sofa bed. There were no blankets, pillows, etc in the room to make the sofa bed. When I called guest services they do not have any blankets or pillows available. With the price gouging you would at least expect the room you purposely booked to accommodate another 2 adults would have pillows and blankets. Instead we're spending another night in the cold. The worst part, the hotel staff was rude about the situation.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank FrqtTrvlr0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm a Platinum Marriott member and this was a great deal. If you use points, it's only a category 3; the location is great and Kona Grill next door is really good restaurant.

It's located near shops and restaurants. It's a bit tricky to get to as it's near US Hgwy 1 and if you are on the oppposite side of the highway, you have to figure out how to get over.

Rooms are clean and spacious as is the bathroom. Concierge lounge was nice and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh_traveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iselin
0.8 mi away
Apa Hotel Woodbridge
Apa Hotel Woodbridge
#1 of 3 in Iselin
482 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
Hampton Inn Woodbridge
#1 of 4 in Woodbridge
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Woodbridge Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Address: 515 US Highway 1 S, Iselin, NJ 08830-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Iselin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Price Range: $131 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a sophisticated stay at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. Situated between Edison and Woodbridge Township, our Iselin, New Jersey hotel is surrounded by popular attractions including Menlo Park Museum and Rutgers University. The dynamic sights and sounds of New York City are just a short train ride away. Enjoy a free area shuttle provided at the hotel. After exploring the area, retire to bold style and customized comfort in spacious guest rooms and suites that boast free Wi-Fi, plug-in technology and flat-panel TVs. Meet with friends, family or colleagues for a bite to eat at OLIO Restaurant and Lounge, or order room service to enjoy a quiet meal in comfort and private. Event planners can please groups with productive meetings or vibrant social soirees when utilizing one of our 22 gathering spaces totaling over 25,000 square feet of flexible space. Stop by the indoor or outdoor pools for a refreshing swim, or keep up with your workout routine in the modern fitness center. Let luxury envelop you when you book reservations at our hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Hotel Iselin
Sheraton Iselin
Iselin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing