We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a dining experience!”
Review of Jose Tejas

Jose Tejas
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Iselin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than just a dining experience!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My daughter, who lives in NJ, always wants to take us to this restaurant when we visit from the Midwest. I'm always a bit reluctant because it's such a popular spot for casual inexpensive dining that hour waits for a table are routine. However, Jose Tejas handles the crowds well and one soon settles in and starts people watching. Jose draws a very diverse crowd, the affluent, the not so affluent, and every racial type known. Everyone was courteous in spite if the crowds.

The food is a curious mix of Mexican and Caribbean cuisine with a little New Orleans thrown in. I've had a bit of both and all were great. I particularly like the beef burritos.

I love this place and will surely go back next year and, yes, there will be a crowd and there will be a wait. If there wasn't, I'd be concerned.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    157
    38
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
244 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food good, drinks disappoint”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although others rated this place as fantastic, I was not as impressed. I ordered the Texas (?) margarita and found it to be weak and tasteless, so switched on the next round. The melon margarita was better, but nothing to write home about (I'm from Texas, where we know tex-mex).

The food was plentiful and tasty. The guacamole was good and the salsa had zest without too much heat.

I commend the wait staff, especially Ryan, for the outstanding job they all do in serving every guest quickly and efficiently. He was never harried or short of time with us, making two women who are old enough to be his mother feel like we were his only customers... great job, Ryan!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jose Tejas”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very nice place, delicious food and prices are reasonable, excelent guacamole, and the service was great, they were very helpful and polite.
The place is always crowded and you have to wait to get a table but the waiting is worth it!!! and while you wait at the bar just enjoy the perfect margarita and chips :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anmorsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmora Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“LOVE it”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Always a bit of a crowd but amazing food. Very well seasoned. Love it. We frequent this place as a family pretty regularly. The margaritas are huge but wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Cajun Mex on Rt. 1, Jersey”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Amazing food at reasonable prices. Always a wait at night, because people just keep coming back. Big place with plenty of tables or sit and eat in bar area. They have the best guacamole in jersey, so you can't just get one. All the blackened fish choices are fantastic. Cajun spices make it more cajun than mex in my opinion, yet the mex food is also delightful. Fajitas especially. Plenty of beer to choose from, and margaritas of all kinds, except strait up -which was a disappointment. Sides are well balanced, and contrast the main dish beautifully. Rustic setting, so don't expect sha-sha daintiness. Wait team is attentive and helpful. Go for it! Go early! Only 10 minutes from Outerbridge for all you SI foodies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StatenIsland56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jose Tejas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing