We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Even Think About it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are a military family and travel alot. We always look for somewhere to sleep at minimal expences. i.e. like the "Super" ones (always served it's purpose...sleeping)

This was the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of being at. It was so bothersome that I am doing this review (I normally don't bother) and if I could give a -5 I would and heres why...

1. Located in the "getto" had to drive past the projects to get there.
2. Other guests appeared to be from the "neighborhood"
3. Our room smelled like dirty water from a water pipe (it was quite overwelmingly strong).
4. The bathroom smelled of marijuana so much so that they must have just left the room.

After an 9 hour flight and a 3 hours drive and arriving at 3 AM we were forced to stay that night. I am writing this so you are not forced into the same situation. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Everyone at Americas Best Value Inn would like to Thank You for taking the time to write us a review. I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the inconveniences you went through during your stay with us. Unfortunately our location has proven to be out of our control, but we are determined to be the very best in a not so great area. Because our property is open to the public we cannot refuse a guest due to looks and appearances.With that in mind I would like to apologize once again for the room that was assigned to you and for your lack of satisfaction you experienced with us. Thank You once again for choosing our property.


Viridiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there for one night, because our flight from Newark didn't leave till the morning, and it was the cheapest hotel in the area. We dropped off our luggage, then drove off to the airport to return our rental car. We asked the gentleman at the reception if the shuttle from the airport goes every half hour, which he confirmed. He forgot to mention that you have to call the hotel from the airport to have them send the shuttle, so we spent half an hour waiting there before we called the hotel, because we didn't know that that's what you're supposed to do. Anyway...

We had booked a king bed room and didn't find out until we went to our room that we got two double beds instead. When we called the reception about it they told us that all the king rooms were booked. No big deal, but it would have been better customer service to tell us that as we checked it and at least pretend to be apologetic about it.

The room was really big though, which was nice. It was clean and had a big flat screen TV (though the reception wasn't great). The WiFi was a bit erratic, too.

The room was modern and quiet, which was good, because that's where we spent all evening. The neighborhood is, well, a bit sketchy, to say the least, and we definitely didn't want to take a stroll around the block or anything.

All in all, I'd probably invest the extra bucks next time and stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Everyone at Americas Best Value Inn would like to Thank You for taking the time to write us a review. I would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of communication you had to experience during your stay with us. We would like you to know we are working on ways to bring information directly to our guests regarding our free shuttle services and it's running schedule. We would also like you to know we are working with our staff to provide a better experience when it comes to customer service, and guest relations. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms as well as it's useful facilities. We would like to apologize once again for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. Thank You for choosing our property and we would like to invite you back to provide an opportunity for a better experience in the future.


Viridiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Check in was easy clean rooms, but took some time to get our other room cleaned. We checked in for 2 rooms but one of them had not been cleaned. The stay is nice rooms are big and price was reasonable. Do stay here great place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

The Staff at Americas Best Value Inn is flattered by such a great review! We are glad to know we met your expectations regarding the quality of our rooms and our reasonable rates. I would like to sincerely apologize for the delayed service in one of your booked rooms and I would like you to know we are taking every step to ensure the rooms booked ahead of time are ready to be checked in days before the day of your arrival and checked multiple times a day to ensure the best quality possible for you. I would like to Than You once again for choosing our property, and we would like to invite you back the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we was very happy with the hotel accommodations and the staff was very helpful specially carolina, micheal and all the front disk,the room was very clean and very quit, also the breakfast was excellent, also carolina is an awesome, friendly and helpful person she helped me for reservation for my brother when I'm called her by telephone and she kept all my mail with her,actually it was a fantastic stay .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgepetro2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Everyone at Americas Best Value Inn, specially the front desk staff, would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such an amazing review. We are more than glad to know you enjoyed the quality of our rooms as much as the complementary breakfast. Our main goal is to provide you with the most comfortable stress-free experience as we can possibly manage. We would also like to Thank You once again for choosing our property, and we would love to invite you back the next time you happen to be around our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very pleased with the hotel accommodations and the helpfulness of all the staff, especially Deepa. They went out of their way to make sure we were promptly picked up by their free shuttle at the Newark airport and provided an excellent continental breakfast in the morning. The room was excellent and very clean. They also arranged for our taxi to the Liberty Cruise Port. It's definitely a good value.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room on the courtyard side,and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

The staff at Americas Best Value Inn, specially Ms. Deepa, would like to Thank You for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to know your stay was pleasant and satisfactory in all the areas of our hotel. We would also like you to know the staff and I take a guests request very seriously and will do our best to try and meet your needs to the best of our ability every time. Thank You once again for choosing our property, and we would love to invite you back the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

it was a nice room. spacious. i especially liked the front desk service. her name was ms. rivera.i hope she can be aknowledge her. i also liked it had a shuttle to the airport. the room was good for the value and very spacious. outside is like inglewood.ca

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djkoh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Everyone at Americas Best Value Inn, specially Ms. Rivera, would like to Thank You for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful review. We are delighted to know the services we provide are helpful and convenient for you. With a helpful Front Desk Staff we like to keep in mind there room for improvement. Once again I would like to Thank You for choosing our property, and we would love to invite you back the next time you're around town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Carolina leads the staff and she is an awesome and helpful person. The entire staff reflects her leadership as they are as also very helpful. The room was clean like a 4 or 5 star hotel. The area isnt the best, but isnt the worst either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

The Staff at Americas Best Value Inn, specially Carolina, would like to Thank You for such wonderful review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like you to know that we are working even harder to improve the quality of our rooms for a maximum comfort experience. Thank You once again for choosing our property and we would like to invite you back the time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport

Address: 100 Union Ave, Irvington, NJ 07111-3208
Location: United States > New Jersey > Irvington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range: $65 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport is located less 10 miles from New York City and only four miles from the Newark Liberty International Airport (Airport Code - EWR) with free 24-hour shuttle service from Terminal P4, making the hotel ideal for lodging accommodations while visiting New York City or the Newark area. Our hotel is near downtown Newark and the local educational and health care districts. We also offer easy access to famous New York City attractions like Times Square, Central Park, Ground Zero, Theatre District, Empire State Building and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Our hotel is minutes from Newark attractions like the Meadowlands Arena (Giants/Jets Stadium), New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Statue of Liberty, and Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall, the area's largest outlet mall. All guest rooms come equipped with desks areas, irons, ironing boards, cable television with premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet along with free phone calls anywhere in the U.S. Refrigerator, microwaves and rollaway beds are also available. A deluxe complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 6am - 9am. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport provides the ideal lodging accommodation for all who arrive in the Newark/New York area. Our friendly, experienced and courteous staff is available 24-hours and is eager to make your stay with us a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing