We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My nightmare in room 306 and 107” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Union Avenue, Irvington, NJ 07111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My nightmare in room 306 and 107”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As you can imagine my stay was not pleasant . To start the bathroom was hideous . The ceiling was covered in black mold . What finished destroying the possibility of even staying was that not even 5 min after laying on the bed I was getting viciously bite by bed bugs . And to my disgrace I ended up sleeping in the car of the hotel parking lot. But it did not end there after having to return to the room with my babies I had to pack my belongings afraid that the bed bugs my venture off with us . I spent more money on itch ointments n bug spray for me and my home . My family and I have the bites still on us and these are the sad consciences.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunnymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    51
    24
    56
See reviews for
55
46
35
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place has bed bugs, is 1:06 in the morning and I woke up cuz something bite me I grab my phone and use the light to find bed bugs the mattress have blood spot everywhere and I took pictures just in case. I will talk to the maneger latter

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkbless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I would like to apologize for the unfortunate experience you had here at the Americas Best Value Inn - Newark Airport.

Upon your departure, we had the room inspected by our professional pest control company and he did not find any issues with the room. We also had our housekeeping supervisor thoroughly check the room linen and furniture (including mattress) and we have replaced all items which did not meet our stringent cleanliness guidelines. We have also deep cleaned the room and it has been occupied with no complaints. The Americas Best Value Inn - Newark Airport takes any complaint very seriously and we do everything possible to make our guests have an enjoyable experience.

We apologize for your unpleasant stay and do hope you give us another chance when you return to the area.

Best Regards,
A. Naik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Irvington hotels

London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

......... but why should it be for this price? Look, in this life you generally get what you pay for. I just stayed here 14-19 November and have to say that in terms of value for money they exceeded all my expectations. My room had everything I could possibly have hoped for in this price range. I slept well and comfortably, and felt everything was clean. The staff, both the shuttle drivers and front desk, and Carolina in particular, were efficient, charming and helpful. It's a breeze to get in and out of Manhattan, and to the airport. What more, at this price range, could you reasonably ask for? Well done guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travel all over the world and this hotel and their employes Carolina zara cecilia and maria they really known the meaning of the word customer service even in very hard times i was there when hurricane sandy hit NJ they really make us feel secure i will definite stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Please don't visit this hotel it has bed bugs and instead of the staff giving us an apology they blamed it on the guest that come for the stay. I told them that they need to shut down the hotel and get the place exterminated the correct way. They refused so I plan to contact the health department so please if you especially from out of town dont go please.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at our hotel. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided to you.

The hotel investigated your claim and a nationally known third party pest control company was contracted to inspect the room you stayed in thoroughly. They did not find any evidence of bed bugs. Note that this is an impartial company who has no agenda with respect to validating or invalidating your claims of an infestation.

Generally, our hotel employs a very aggressive pest control policy and our philosophy is to always err on the side of safety and proactive treatment, including weekly service calls by a licensed company (most of our competitors get monthly service).

Again, I am very sorry for your dissatisfaction with us while staying at the hotel, but I urge you to give us another chance so we can demonstrate the cleanliness of the hotel to you.

Thanks,
A. Naik - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in, the room was big and comfortable, and the hotel itself had everything you could ever want. The hotel is located near by Newark International Airport which was very convenient. Affordable and best staff. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I went to the hotel 2 times. Both times good. The ladies at the front desk (Deepka and Carolina were so nice and remembered me). They were very accommodating and friendly to me and my family. Although not in the best neighborhood and I am familiar with the area, that didn't worry me. Their self service complimentary breakfast was nice. They had a variety of breakfast to eat for everyone. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were nice for the stay and the building was quiet for a goodnite sleep. I would recommend this place for a short stay and for the "Best Value" price.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors, instead of main floor, they are very quiet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport

Property: Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
Address: 100 Union Avenue, Irvington, NJ 07111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Irvington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport is located less 10 miles from New York City and only four miles from the Newark Liberty International Airport (Airport Code - EWR) with free 24-hour shuttle service from Terminal P4, making the hotel ideal for lodging accommodations while visiting New York City or the Newark area. Our hotel is near downtown Newark and the local educational and health care districts. We also offer easy access to famous New York City attractions like Times Square, Central Park, Ground Zero, Theatre District, Empire State Building and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Our hotel is minutes from Newark attractions like the Meadowlands Arena (Giants/Jets Stadium), New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Statue of Liberty, and Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall, the area's largest outlet mall. All guest rooms come equipped with desks areas, irons, ironing boards, cable television with premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet along with free phone calls anywhere in the U.S. Refrigerator, microwaves and rollaway beds are also available. A deluxe complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 6am - 9am. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport provides the ideal lodging accommodation for all who arrive in the Newark/New York area. Our friendly, experienced and courteous staff is available 24-hours and is eager to make your stay with us a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport Hotel Irvington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing