We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of Chapter House

Chapter House
Ranked #14 of 81 Restaurants in Howell
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Been here about five times since the renovation and have sat in both the bar and restaurant area. The bar area is so much better than before, but let's face it, it's a bar with LOTS of tvs and it is loud. That said, I sit in the bar to people watch, eat some snacks and toss back a few beers. Restaurant is very nice. Was just there with our family and it's very good atmosphere. Food is very good, better than before. Love the homemade soups. Very good value. On all occasions, we've had very good service from the staff in both the bar and restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have been frequent visitors of the Chapter House - up until approximately 6 months ago. We are not sure if there is new management but the food quality is not good. We tried a few times - each time it was the same - so they have lost us as customers. It is a shame as this establishment is literally 2 minutes from our home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell. NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to watch sports”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The recent remodeling was well done. The bar area is a great place to watch a game. I recommend the nachos for an appetizer. Sandwiches are consistently good. The new turkey burger is my favorite.

Service is always excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our first visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a friends recommendation went to the Chapter house for the first time and will go back again. The service was excellent and attentive. The atmosphere was loud as there was a big bar area, but not too loud for a family friendly enviorment. My wife and I order a couple of appetizers and while the tuna roll was just okay, we could have made a whole meal on the Bonsai Shrimp which was great. For dinner we had the Wurst platter and the Fish and Chips. The wurst platter was well prepared and filling, while the Fish and Chip were excellently done, not greasy and flavorful. We especially enjoyed the chips that were well seasoned and crisp.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
“Great new look”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a major remodel, which was long overdue, The Chapter House is now my favorite new hangout. This place went from dark and dingy to open and airy. The one complaint we had was with the bar being noisy. The owner assured us that the issue would be resolved as they are only 95% complete with the remodel. But I guess it is a bar and being as crowded as it was it is going to be noisy. The food we had was very good. I highly recommend the bonzai shrimp or the Thai scallop appetizer and the encrusted salmon special had an excellent presentation and was one of the best salmon dishes I have had. As far as the service, I don't know what the last reviewer was talking about as the bartenders were all very pleasant and attentive. Can't wait to go back for Sunday football!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Johnson407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing