We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere but imperfect food”

The Inn at Millrace Pond
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hope
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but imperfect food”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The restaurant is located in a colonial mill, which has terrific atmosphere. There are two eating spaces - one is a more formal dining room upstairs, the other a less formal tavern downstairs. However, the staff are flexible and allowed us to order from either menu, regardless of where we sat. Both rooms have a terrific, cozy, colonial feeling to them. The waitstaff were attentive and friendly. Cocktails were expertly prepared, and the wine was quite good as well. The quality of the meal was less consistent. Successes were the rack of lamb, which was tender and flavorful. The fish, less interesting. The pulled pork was tender, but the sauce pretty average. The rib eye steak was good. The side-dishes of vegetables were just generally not that great - I don't think that any of our party finished theirs. Finally, we ordered blueberry pie for desert, which was very tasty, but served ice cold. It would have been much better if warmed a bit. In short, great atmosphere. When ordering, stay focused on the meat dishes. The vegetables just need some work. Desert was good, just the wrong temperature.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Old Colonial Atomisphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went for diner on a Friday night. The was music outside on the patio, The outside patio was filled but not packed, the inside had plenty of space. There is also pub seating but we didn't see that room.

Service was reasonable, prompt, and pleasant. The food was outstanding. We ate inside and the had desert and coffee outside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford NJ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Colonial Restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had dinner during our stay at the Inn at Millrace Pond. We enjoyed cocktails and glasses of wine for dinner. The wine was very good. My wife had the salmon and thought it was very good. I had the filet mignon and it was also very good (although not the best that I have ever had), and it was done perfectly. The mashed potatoes were excellent. We had salads that were very tasty, and shared a dessert. The wait staff were excellent and very accommodating. The dining room was very well decorated and laid out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonG498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere but food disappointing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Planned on a casual dinner at the pub but upon arrival found that it was booked for a private party but we could have pub menu in the dining room. We weren't thrilled because our purpose of going was to check out the pub but we decided to give it a shot. Wrong plan. The waitress was wonderful, the atmosphere was nice but a little too formal for our liking. All that would of been okay accept the food was disappointing. We ordered a burger and salmon blt. The fries were okay, the burger was average; but the biggest disappointment was the salmon blt. I am not exaggerating when i say the salmon only covered half the bun at the most. It was ridiculous. I can only comment on the pub menu food...maybe the dining menu food is much better. Overall i would not recommend or be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlovur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a find! Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Got off the highway looking for lunch, totally accidentally found this Inn. Stunning scenery, you can eat in the formal dining room or in the pub area. We chose to eat in the pub area (Fireside tavern). So cozy! And you walk through the old mill. Now the food was EXCELLENT! Roasted butternut squash soup, amazing. Baked crab mac n cheese omg, died and went to heaven! Comfort food!! Hubbs had the pulled pork sandwich, he cleaned his plate. Service with a smile, super pleasant dining experience. Excellent value. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Where2next629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Millrace Pond also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Millrace Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing