We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Quick and Easy Get Away from NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Millrace Pond
Ranked #1 of 2 Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night in the Stone Cottage, Rm1.
The room was well decorated and comfortable, not to mention spacious to boot.
No fridge in the room, but the staff happily stored our snacks in the Tavern for us.
Just enough sun filters in through the garden windows and you can hear the birds in the morning for a lovely wake up.
The whirlpool bathtub was a treat! (bring some bath salts!)
Breakfast was actually a full breakfast, cooked to order in the main dining room. Not the pastry and melon fruit layout that seems to be the norm these days. Again, just another positive way to start the day.

Everyone was very helpful and Christine (the Innkeeper) went the extra mile to make us feel welcome, completely at home and comfortable. Not only was she generous with her time and attention, but extremely knowledgeable about the property and its history within the village and state. The staff in the Tavern allowed us to take over the TVs for Futbol and even offered to let us watch the match Monday when the Tavern was closed.

Its hard to believe that in less than an hour and a half from the city, we could find such lovely tranquility. After the Tavern closed, we took our wine to the garden to enjoy the creek and fireflies. After checking out we even had time for a quick game of tennis on the onsite court.

I cant stress enough how delightful the trip was. The staff, the room, the grounds was all we could have asked for. ((thanks guys))

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have whirlpool tubs and are the only 2 in that building - making them secluded and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennipher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the inn because I got a groupon deal. It was a very nice stay! Very comfortable, very clean, and a lot of history. Not a ton to do in Hope NJ but it isn't far from the Delaware Water gap if you like hiking, kayaking etc. The food at the restaurant was VERY good. We got baked brie, butternut squash soup (YOU MUST GET THIS IT'S FANTASTIC), country stuffed chicken (which was DELISH!) crab cakes (they were ok), trio of crem brule, and chocolate lava cake. All of it was very nice. Staff was friendly. I would stay here again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely inn a few years ago, and had fond memories of the place and its food. So we were looking forward to saying here again. The hostess/concierge/part-time cook accurately summed up the situation here now: it's a bit chaotic. 1. the inn was nearly empty, but we were taken to a cottage room recently painted, windows painted shut, heat on high: unbearably smelly. Would the upstairs room do, even though it hasn't been used lately? Mothballs were the overriding scent here. A room in the main inn was cleaned, finally, and we settled in -- with a jacuzzi! Unfortunately, the jacuzzi didn't work, and the shower head was no longer connected to plumbing. Drinks on the house -- but the part-time bartender forgot my wife's drink and simply left the bar. Dinner and breakfast were fine, but incredibly slow -- an hour before salad at dinner, 45 minutes for pancakes at a seating with a total of two tables, and four people. Apologies galore from the staff, but it's the owners who should apologize, before they sink an inn still surviving on past performance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, one with a shower that works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here over the New Years weekend for a wedding. Our room was on the small size, but the bed was comfortable. The decor is definitely plain, but charming. Since it was a wedding, there was a cocktail party the night before the wedding and a reception the day of. The food we had was good, but it's hard to judge the food based on a banquet menu. Everything was very clean and the service was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

A major snowstorm struck on saturday oct. 29 which knocked out power all over the state including my wife and I. We stuck it out for 2 days and then tried finding a hotel which was impossible within a 60 mile radius. Finally on the 3rd day, the Inn which is normally closed, opened up its rooms and we were able to obtain one. The owners opened their doors under very trying circumstances and provided clean rooms and then went further and put together a last minute menu so no one would have to go out with the downed trees and power lines. For a quicky menu it was fantastic. Butternut squash soup was to die for. I had a simple burger but it was done to perfection. To me this was more than a business transaction, the owners provided a welcoming atmosphere and did all they could to accomodate everyone and did an excellent job of it. I will make this a special place to dinner in the future and I thank the Inn and their entire staff for all the efforts. This truly is a gem of a place to go.....

Room Tip: We had a seperate cottage room which was very comfortable. I am sure the other rooms would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipdsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

It is very quite, rustic, enjoyable. we stayed for one night and loved it. The staff is friendly and eager to please. The room was clean and comfortable. The area is rustic and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were recommended to the Inn by great friends and we can't thank them enough. We enjoyed a wonderfully quiet and rustic weekend with our two young boys at the Inn. The grounds are vast, the rooms cozy and the food was spectacular! My little critics would have refused to eat otherwise! Aside from the peace and quiet of the Inn, it has many attractions for young families within a few minutes (ie. "Pick your own"' farms, Wolf Preserve, Land of Make Believe, trails, etc.). By staying in the area and avoiding the long drive, we truly enjoyed the weekend and were able to relax. We are looking forward to returning again soon. This time, we may just come with our grown up friends to enjoy the fireside tavern after a tour of the local wineries in the area! Would highly recommend this hotel and special events venue - almost makes you want to get married all over again! (They do private catered events on premise! and have a house that you can rent to accommodate an entire family!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlecostafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Millrace Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Millrace Pond

Address: 313 Hope Johnsonburg Road, P.O. Box 359, Hope, NJ 07844
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range: $129 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Millrace Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Millrace Pond has a long and glorious history in Northwest New Jersey, having been a community staple in Hope since the Moravian Grist Mill the building once housed was built in 1769. Over the past several years, The Inn has gained a reputation as a delightful Bed and Breakfast, Fine Dining Restaurant, and a Corporate Center where major corporations and businesses regularly hold seminars and other company activities. Customers come from throughout the Northeast to enjoy the Inn's rustic ambiance. Nestled only ten minutes east of the Delaware Water Gap, and a quick drive to Jenny Jump state Park, the Inn's Bed and Breakfast is a perfect destination for anyone interested in the outdoor activities of North West New Jersey. With 17 antique-filled guest rooms, the Inn is fully prepared for family events, corporate parties, meetings, and other special functions. The Inn is well known for offering its guests personal attention throughout their stay. Not only can diners enjoy a fine dining experience "upstairs" but for those preferring more of a pub style atmosphere, the Fireside Tavern "downstairs" features a small bar and old time fire place that will make you feel right at home. In either dining room we welcome you to indulge in an array of both comfort foods and fine dining selections from Burgers and Chicken Pot Pie to Fresh Seasonal Seafood and Steaks. And of course, a generous menu of hand selected wines and a solid choice of rotating craft beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Millrace Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Millrace Pond Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing