We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”

Zafra Kitchen Incorporated
Ranked #184 of 297 Restaurants in Hoboken
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The last time we were there was New Year's Eve, but it's a fairly regular destination. The food is a step up from other places in town (though not quite at the level of its sister restaurant, Cucharamama). It does tend to get a little tight around the entrance which can get a little stressful when it's cold. Outside eating for a summer night is a really good experience although (through no fault of the restaurant) the sirens from the hospital can sometimes cut into the atmosphere.

All in all though we love coming here. The staff is very efficient but friendly, and across the board the food is good. You could easily make a whole meal out of the appetizers alone, but try to refrain a little and get a full meal. Like other BYOB places in town they'll make red or white sangria if you bring a bottle.

Overall, a little more casual than Cucharamama, which is good because depending on what mood you're in and how much you want to spend having the other option is very handy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

They have an extensive tapas menu. Food is always very good.Lots of items to choose from. BYOB, with limited outdoor seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottsiegel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food- go elsewhere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to Zafra with several couples for a celebration. We had 8pm reservation. The waiter was very short with us and rushed us through the ordering. The menu was very authentic and they would not make any alterations to the orders. Food arrived quickly. Small portions but price also was fairly inexpensive. By 9pm they had a large party coming in and made it quite obvious they wanted us out. Rushed the check. Overall very poor experience and food was pretty average if not less than average.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Hoboken--great food, service, and ambiance (cafe-like). Absolutely love the vegetarian platter--a little bit of everything--very filling. Great value too! This place is a real gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Someone recommended it to as like little cute place with a lot of charm and character.
Won't be arguing about charm, but that was about it. Coming to small and authentic place like that you expect attitude that is little different then fast food counter on big faceless shopping mall, but well, the girl there had just that "what ever" look on her face as we were slightly confused over menu and ask her about it. Empanadas and some dessert that we had were not that good, and also overpriced. Plus as being there we were witnessing like the same girl at the counter was trying to overcharge someone... We left that place wanting more... Well, may be our choice was not right at the moment, but I will not come back just to try it again, as the atmosphere did not appear too welcoming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafra Kitchen Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Zafra Kitchen Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing