We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many great dishes”
Review of Vitos Deli

Vitos Deli
Ranked #31 of 300 Restaurants in Hoboken
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“many great dishes”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its great to go to Vito's because they have specials that are new and for a great traditional Italian deli with all the classics they will also have some very high end combos that are delish.
Really always consistently good food, fast service, good variety...and usually a line but it moves fast!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler07030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty Local NJ Subshop”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family loves to eat locally when we are on vacation, so, when we made a pit-stop in Hoboken to visit Carlo's Bakery (Cake Boss!), we sought out local fare to have lunch. I'd seen a few references to Vito's Deli online from Food Network celebrities (such as Ted Allen) about their favorite deli sub "wit mutz" (short for mozzarella) & found that Vito's Deli was just down the street from Carlo's.

Our family of 4 each ordered subs, chips & drinks for about $24. There is a huge selection of meat, cheeses and garnishes. I had the turkey wit mutz w/lettuce, tomato, red onion & dressing. The bread was amazingly fresh for it being late afternoon, the mutz was really creamy & flavorful. Being from the Midwest I'd never had that kind of homemade mozzarella on my sub!) My husband had the roast beef wit mutz & different garnishes but also enjoyed the sandwhich. My kids who aren't big on dressings got plain subs & enjoyed theirs as well. Sidewalk seating is limited, so grab a table when you get there. The sandwiches were delicious & the ambience of a local NJ deli was a fun experience for everyone. I would definitely recommend Vito's Deli!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gtzb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST MUTZ IN TOWN!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Son-in-law took me there to pick up Mutz and meats for family "Feast of Seven Fishes".
The cheeses and meats we purchased were delicous. The small shop and atmosphere was wonderful. Staff works fast and extremely effecient. We had purchase sandwiches earlier in the week and they were tasty, too. Looking forward in returning for my Tee shirt!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wickerbillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice deli”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We all enjoyed our sandwiches at this deli. Apparently so do the Hoboken police because there were probably 6 to 8 of them who came in at various times while we ate out front. I would eat here frequently if I lived nearby. Plenty of other Italian goods available if you want to make your own lunch.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A-in-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Deli that Should not be Missed”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

There are a lot of Italian delis that make mozzarella and sandwiches in Hoboken and the debate over which is best goes on and on in this town. I will say that Vito's has never let me down. Everyone has their favorite and this is mine.

Vito's also has the best selection of Italian goodies in town like hard to find olive oil brands, olives, italian salads spreads and pasta. The service is great and it's very clean.

In the summer they offer a few outside tables. Otherwise it's strictly to go.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hi3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vitos Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing