We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Maxwell's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 295 Restaurants in Hoboken
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Maxwell's Tavern, located in Hoboken, NJ, is a neighborhood tavern featuring fresh baked thin crust pizza made from daily prepared dough and toppings. Sandwiches, burgers, appetizers and other tavern fare round out the menu, with additional daily and weekly specials also available making our menu everything you could desire. We offers over 21 beers on tap and a wide selection of wines in a casual and comfortable dining atmosphere. Maxwell's provides a great environment for watching sporting events and other forms of entertainment, including occasional live music. We also have the capacity to host private events and parties (up to 75 people) in our private party room. Your complete satisfaction is our top priority. We welcome you to our friendly and casual environment to enjoy your meal and an evening out with friends. This is Maxwell's Tavern. Food. Beer. Legend.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
349 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've lived in the Hoboken area for over 10 years but never tried Maxwell's (always tough to make the commitment to go into Hoboken for dinner, given the tough parking). I decided to try it when I saw a GroupOn deal. My husband and I went early on a weeknight; we were there for the food, not the bar or music. The food was great! I had coconut chicken - delicious and served with yummy dipping sauce, a HUGE portion of mashed sweet potatoes and creamed spinach. My husband's steak was also excellent and a large portion. It's a funky atmosphere, has an interesting and varied menu, and we will go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare46408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Small music venue”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A small (ish) and tightly packed food and bar area. Freindly staff - food seemed trendy but good. The music area is small, which is a plus- an opportunity to see your band up close and personal. Worth the trip in from NYC or elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
419 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Monday nights with Swingadelic (usually once a month) is the place to be. This 11 piece jazz-swing band is phenomenal. Sometimes they also have a guest singer or two who does a couple of numbers, which is just icing on the cake! They have a very large eclectic menu, not at all what you'd expect in a bar. The varied dishes are very large portions and the food is very good. The service has been great every time I've gone (3 times this summer with a large group). If I had to say anything bad it would be the lack of parking, but that is the entire city of Hoboken, not a Maxwell's issue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“the barmaid”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

love Heather superb personality pours old speckled hen properly. Will be back soon. ca

Helpful?
1 Thank Salesman-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for drinks, food's whatever.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great place to grab a beer or a drink. Their cocktails are hangovers in a glass, but they'll get you sufficiently buzzed immediately. They have great shows here too, and a great room in the front with couches to just sit back and drink+schmooze with your friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maxwell's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing