We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best W in the series - Makes travel fun again”
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great hotel in an environment where people complain more then they praise. The night I stayed at the hotel, it was sold out and as a Platinum member I was upgraded to room 1710 (The Extreme WOW Suite) which was unbelievable to say the least. I hope I can get it again! Unfortunately, I had to leave early and never got to take advantage of it, but everything was outstanding. The employees, the service across the board, etc. were great.

I have recently had some trouble with SPG regarding some issues with my points and was contemplating moving my business to Marriott where I am gold (50 nights). Because of this hotel, I will continue to be loyal to Starwood.

This hotel makes business travel seem fun again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHansen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
There are newer reviews for W Hoboken
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is a newer hotel and it is beautiful. The location is wonderful for easy access to NYC via the NJPath train and easy walking into Hoboken. We had a 'cozy room' which is the smallest but it was plenty of space for us. The bath is lovely, the bed comfortable. The conceriege and front desk service was great, but the service in the lounge was lacking. There is free wi-fi in the lounge area but not the rooms. You need to watch your tab for already included gratuity, if you don't know about it, you'll be tipping twice. Parking is expensive $35/night. On our first trip, we were on the 7th floor and could hear the 'house music' from the lounge, on our next trip, we were on 12 and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdecarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Typical W Hotel, great service, trendy atmosphere, but friendly. This is a gorgeous new place and you'll be sure to have a lovely time! So nice to roll down to Bliss the next morning in your PJs!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAPJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

After having the worst experience ever at another local hotel. My girlfriend and I needed another place to stay. We checked into the W last minute, and were treated like complete and utter rock stars. Everything from the valet, to the room service was top notch. We were given a room overlooking the manhattan skyline. It was a short walk to the nearest subway station which took us directly into the Big Apple.
We were looking for a little bit of local food, as well as New York based hot sauces. Between the receptionist, and the valet guy we were directed to two places down the street from our hotel. Both were small, family owned places which were excellent as well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuhrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the W Hotel, Hoboken, New Jersey, a 40 minute cab ride from Newark airport.

This 5 star hotel situated on the west bank of the Hudson river proved to be an ideal point for viewing the Manhattan skyline, directly facing the Empire State and Chrysler buildings with stunning views both during the day but more so at night with the bright lights reflected beautifully in the water.

Hoboken, the birthplace of Frank Sinatra proved to be an ideal base. A 10 minute stroll south along the riverside promenade took you to the bus station. railway station, the Path trains for Manhattan and the ferry.

A single fare on the underground of $1.75, for a 15 minute journey took you into Manhattan under the river, or a $6 ferry trip took you from one side of the Hudson to the other with much more delightful views.

After a long day doing a busy sight seeing tour in the big Apple, it was a welcome relief to return to Hoboken a more tranquil and almost seaside resort.

Hoboken offered dining of all descriptions in its one busy street of Washington Street, everything from Japanese to McDonalds and its pavement cafés to just sit and watch the world go by.

Hoboken would certainly be a place we would return to on our next visit to New York.

Thank elephantiteus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Definitely a room with a view! Our "wonderful" room on the 7th floor had a 120° view on Midtown Manhattan, with Empire State and Chrysler Building right in the middle, and a couch to enjoy the scenery from. Large room and bathroom, comfortable bed. Friendly staff too. We did not try out the restaurant - stayed in Manhattan - and had breakfast @ starbuck's on Washington St., which has a small town atmosphere, contrasting nicely with Manhattan's hustle. The PATH station is a 5 minute walk and Manhattan a 10-20 minute ride away. Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WomPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I truly enjoyed my recent stay at the W over the past weekend. The hotel was modern and trendy but still kept its sophistication all in a great location. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The food from the restaurant was excellent. It doesn't seem to be a hotel that's meant for families though. But all in all I had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolElise1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,821 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range: $224 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing