We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel to see NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel to see NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had a conference booked at the W in Hoboken, just across from the NYC skyline. Beautiful!
Good service. Nice city and hotel. Easy access to NYC by subway.
Definitely recommend if you want to see the city while enjoying a small city atmosphere for sleep and leisure. Nice running or walking path outside of hotel if that's your pleasure.

Room Tip: Window facing manhattan skyline. I liked the business district view myself but entire skyline of NYC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience! I’m delighted our hotel was an excellent location for your conference! I am also glad that we were able to deliver such exceptional service, and that you were able to enjoy the wonderful views W Hoboken offers. Whether for business or leisure, we look forward to your next stay with us! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    265
    77
    38
    28
See reviews for
256
366
80
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NoVA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While our stay was associated with a work function (i.e., initially not our choice to stay here), we have come to really love the W in Hoboken (better than other W locations, too). All the employees - from front desk to valet to the bar -- are very nice and accommodating. But it is the room we love most...large, with a comfortable bed, plenty of desk/counter space and lots of outlets! The bathroom is not huge but also not too small, with space for your things. But best of all is that EVERY room has a beautiful view of Manhattan, with an artfully designed (and comfortable) wide chair in the little alcove that allows you to stare at the NY skyline for hours in comfort.

The gym is great...plenty of equipment...and plenty of water and towels.

Can't beat the location...five minute walk to the train station, two minutes to Washington Street, which has lots of different restaurants, bars and boutique shopping. And the Bliss Spa is attached to the hotel for a wonderful getaway (though their services are a bit expensive).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numberonueve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! I’m always so happy to hear when our guests take advantage of everything the hotel and the City of Hoboken have to offer! I’m delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and hope to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family & I stayed at W in July 2013 with a name-your-own-price deal on Priceline.com. What a GREAT value for being so close to NYC without the hassles of the city... honestly, we will stay in NJ on future trips as it is so easy to drive to/from the hotel and then ditch your car and take the train to the big apple. The hotel is beautiful / modern & the views of the skyline are spectacular as well. The only thing missing was a pool to take a dip.

Room Tip: Views over the hudson are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groove_luvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you sharing your W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! We love to provide our guests with truly memorable experiences at W Hoboken. I’m happy to hear that we were such a great discovery for you and that you enjoyed your guest room as well as the amazing views of New York City! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to W Hoboken again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been to this W Hotel location 3 years straight and will book again next year. The room is always clean. The check in, from car to room, is flawless. The staff is friendly, helpful & attentive. Marc is an amazing asset to the W and has always greeted us, by name, when we arrive and made himself available to us for any issues.

Room Tip: If you can swing an upgrade the view of NYC is UNMATCHABLE !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience with the Trip Advisor community. We strive to provide our guests with a personalized and memorable experience. It's always incredibly rewarding to hear such wonderful comments! Cleanliness is a top priority we take very seriously at W Hoboken and I’m delighted to hear you recognized this during your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in June for our 13th anniversary. We arrived early on Sat morning expecting simply to drop our luggage and go to the city, however Jonathan was able to check us in despite it only being 10AM and when he heard about our special occasion he changed our room to give us one with a southeast view overlooking lower Manhattan. Breathtaking view of the skyline both day and night. The Hotel is about 300m from the PATH station so very convenient to get to NYC. The hotel is right on the waterfront, a nice park nearby, lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Carlos bakery is two blocks away, for the Cake Boss fans. Room was beautiful, nice king bed and a nice sofa in the window to sit on while gazing over the skyline. A bit of confusion over billing for multiple wireless devices but the front desk took care of it. Great service, front desk arranged a nice SUV trip to EWR for our early morning flight. We loved the hotel, my only minor complaint is the noise issue everyone mentions. We were on the seventh floor and it seems not to far above the disco in the hotel, which lead to fairly loud music until 5AM on the Sat night. Other nights were perfectly quiet, but if you are a light sleeper like me, this may be an issue as it seems to be a lively spot on the weekend.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your outstanding stay with the Trip Advisor community! I'm so delighted that we were able to deliver such exceptional experience during your celebratory visit, and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful things the City of Hoboken offers. I must apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. When your travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just stayed at the W Hoboken, a repeat visit, and it has pluses and minuses you may want to keep in mind.

Pluses:
- Decor and service are very high quality. Front desk, valet parking staff, room service, all performed to a high level. I can only say good things about them.
- Very nice rooms, much much better than the boring rectangular box of most chains. We upgraded to the "Wonderful" room, which is spacious and had that fantastic view of Manhattan.
- Location is unbeatable - you have the view of NYC, are walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the PATH.

Minuses:
- The W really looks to the hip, party crowd. Nothing wrong with that in general, but it means that the night club is open and loud till late. On the 8th floor you could hear the thump thump thump of the base till 2am. Not too loud, but still a distraction. Light sleepers will want a high floor or even look elsewhere where there isn't a nightlife orientation.
- What happens when the club closes? Well, the people at the club make their way upstairs. If they are drunk or having an argument you'll find out about it at 2am - as we did on both nights on this recent stay. Other reviews have commented about noise so it looks like this is an ongoing issue. It wasn't terrible this weekend, but it did interrupt sleep and detracted from the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for quiet, and consider an upgrade so you can get the view of NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffOnTheRoad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent W Hoboken experience. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing both your positive feedback as well as areas for improvement. While I am thrilled that you enjoyed so many components of your visit, I am sorry for the noise disturbance you experienced as I understand this is not what our guest's expect when they come to stay with us for rest and relaxation. It is precisely through our guest's feedback that we are able to continually monitor our guest's expectations and again, many thanks for sharing. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern, no complaints. Would stay again for a cheaper alternative outside NYC. Got the SPG gold gift of bonus points without even having to ask for it! ( I am a gold member but usually have to bring up myself)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor! We love when our Starwood Preferred Guests stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received. Hope to welcome you back again soon-Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Property: W Hoboken
Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing