We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chi, modern in the heart of Hoboken”
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2013

No where else can you find a hotel on this level in the heart of Hoboken. Mere steps from everything and right on the water. Stayed here (Mar 2013) for the 2nd time in the past year and was not disappointed. Very clean, modern and efficient hotel. Staff properly trained and delicious fruit infused water at check-in. On the pricery end for being in NJ but it is a W.

Room Tip: Room 1418 faces west with a view of Hoboken, room type with the lowest price point.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
There are newer reviews for W Hoboken
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days last week, Thursday to Sunday, another really good stay.

My room had incredible views of New York and the staff here are very helpful and really make the stay worthwhile. So good to find a hotel where the staff care about how there guests are enjoying their stay. The restaurant there is very good too, we visited for breakfast and dinner.

Transport links from Hoboken to the City are grat and the views are much better this side of the river. Some great bars and restaurants in Hoboken too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first time staying at the W Hotel, and all I can say is that from the first moment we arrived to the departure the service from the doormen, housekeeping and front desk.First I called Friday morning before driving to NYC to make sure that everything with the reservations was secure after speaking to Jim and requesting a upgrade from a king to a double queen with no additional charge I was very happy with the accommodations that was made though priceline.com We arrived on Friday evening and Lori front desk manager was more than helpful in explaining everything to me concerning our stay and the ($150) hold on your card when checking in. We were told 4th floor and a great view and all I can say is that it was a wonderful view more than what we expected.The hotel was very beautiful and extra clean housekeeping did a great job. Entering onto the elevator there was a fresh smell(clean), the rooms was very clean and very comfortable. The 2nd day we decided to go into the city, with the help of the doormen very helpful and was a smile he helped us every step of the way. The complimentary ride to and from the Ferry( 18 round-trip) to Manhattan was great (the driver Jordan: very pleasant).There were more than enough places in walking distance to eat and enjoy a nice scroll back to the hotel. Parking is $38 and $30 across the street, we were lucky enough to park on the side street where after 9 pm parking is free. The area in general seemed very safe with runners, people riding bicycles, walking their dogs and just enjoying the evening scroll(right on the Hudson River). I will be back to Hoboken, we really enjoyed the stay and everyone smiled and treated us very well(Loved it!) No pool but they have a location right next door and the kids loved the gym

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justwant2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in January. The room was well sized. The bathroom had a decent sized shower. If you have stayed in a W, you know the look. The staff seemed less than enthusiastic to be at work though. The Acura driver was honestly kind of rude, and even got sassy to the Whenever Wherever agent over the radio. The front desk staff seemed lifeless when we checked in and out. The waiter at breakfast was the only person who seemed to enjoy working there. I also found it odd that despite a letter saying parties are not tolerated in the hotel rooms, a very loud bachelorette party was allowed to continue through the night even though staff came up multiple times. Seriously, it's Hoboken. Tell them to go to a bar or something. There are plenty of those around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is in a ideal location near tons of restaurants. The views are great, overlooking NYC and the water.

I stayed for three nights, and found the staff very attentive and courteous. Overall, I found the rooms to be very average. I stay in Westin hotels quite often, and my room at the W Hoboken was on the smaller side and the decor felt like it was trying to be like the Hard Rock Hotel.

If you can get a decent room rate I'd recommend this hotel. If you're paying $300+, just know that you're not getting an experience on the same level as JW Marriott, or the upper end Westin hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with a group of girlfriends for a bachelorette night in August 2012. The decor was modern, views were spectacular, and the suite was very spacious. Everything you would expect from a W hotel. It's at a great location within Hoboken.. steps to numerous restaurants, bars, etc. It's also verrry close to the path if you wanted to hop on a train to venture out into Manhattan.

If you are into hip hotels in a central location, you won't be disappointed! Very fine idea for a bachelor or bachelorette night if you want to stay within NJ but not drive down to Atlantic City. You also get the NYC feel without paying the considerably high NYC prices for similar hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisLT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was nervous about booking this hotel. Many of the reviews here indicated that noise was an issue and when I read that the station is "5mins away" always makes me wonder by what mode of transport.
Firstly the hotel is spotless and the staff, were fantastic. The W is, at least in my opinion, not focused on families, but the staff were great with kids. The PATH station is only 5 mins away by walking, unless you stop at Starbucks though you don't need to as there is complementary coffee/tea available to go or if you ask they will bring you a coffee maker to your room.

The noise, yes there is noise, but I dont think it was worse than other hotels. The management seemed pretty pro active. At the weekend there was a large sign in the lobby indicating that guests should call & email management if the noise is excessive (they indicate excessive noise includes groups of people in rooms and no party policy in suites). The rooms all have good views of Manhattan, just as advertised.

All in we really enjoyed this hotel, though generally when you have kids a pool is good.

You are close to lots of local restaurants and bars so you don't need to eat at the hotel. Which is great for breakfast when there are lots of you.

What could be improved ? The internet sucks. It is like being is a timewarp, and going back to dial up. It is so slow, that if I was here on business, I would be unable to work. Also I thought parking was shade expensive. I expect $35 in Manhattan, but I thought that being here for 4+ days I could have caught a break, with a reduced fee ... still I understand that you do get in/out privileges.

On the whole, spotless hotel, sweat the details, great staff, but please sort out your internet so I can stay when I come on business.

Room Tip: Get a room on the northside if you want to sleep past 8am, as there is a lot of construction on the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapdodger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#4 of 14 in Jersey City
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range: $227 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing