We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never made it to my room”
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Hoboken
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife called this hotel direct and made a reservation on 3/9/13 for 3/16/13. We arrived bags in tow and was told that our reservation was cancelled on 3/11/13. We told them it wasn't cancelled by us since we were standing in front of them with our bags trying to check in. A manager was brought out to tells us they can't do anything because it was cancelled and they didn't have a room and did not know who cancelled the reservation. So the only thing they did for us was get us a room in lesser hotel and handed my wife and I free bottle of water. Gee thanks!
What did we learn? Stay away from W if this is the customer service we receive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Dlove72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room and the bathroom were extremely small and didn't match up to others we have stayed at in the area. No coffee in the room, you had to get it downstairs in the early morning. We expected more from a hotel that charges those prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very clean and modern hotel. We arrived around 5:30 on a Friday and received a nice upgrade from a cozy room to a wonderful room with a great view of midtown. The gym is very nice. We would stay here again since it is so convenient to Hoboken as well as NY. Great bath products. My only complaint is that it is too modern for me. Very dark and sleek. My husband loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The W Hotel is truly an extraordinary gem in the area. The staff is very polite and accommodating. The facilities are clean and tastefully decorated. The valet parking team brings the car down promptly and makes certain that I have fresh waters bottles in the car. The doormen are cheerful and quick to provide local recommendations. Zylo has great food, pleasant ambiance and friendly servers who took the time to learn my name. Even a small hiccup with the laundry was managed quite well and the W staff made everything right. The front desk team was very accommodating with an upgrade thanks to my SPG Platinum status.

I'll continue to go out of my way to make this my go-to business hotel for Newark and NYC meetings. The PATH station is a hop, skip and jump away.

It's well worth it and you'll love the attentive service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joemontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hudson Restaurant week advertised online that ZYLO in the W was offering a Pre Fix Dinner Menu for $35 per person on 2/2. I made a reservation and at that time they did not tell me the Pre Fix Dinner Menu was not available. Upon being seated I asked for the Restaurant Week Menus. The Hostess said it was not offered and I explained to her that it was advertised online and that is why a group of 7 of us came to your restaurant. She said she would talk to the manager but a manager never came over to discuss it. Again I asked our waiter. He told us the same story. I was ready to walk out your restaurant as this was false advertising. Since I have ate at your restaurant before I decided to stay. Our dinner and service was disappointing. Our Server was rude and we couldn’t understand him. Two of us who had questions about the menu were interrupted as we were asking questions. This was very rude. He was un-attentive and our food took an hour and half after we ordered for it to come out. Once our food came out the portions were small and not impressive.



After Dinner, four Women under the age of 30 from the group walked over to the entrance for The Chandelier Room. The Doorman told us we needed to walk outside in order to get in. It was snowing outside and I thought this was unconscionable for him to tell us we couldn’t enter from inside. After we walked around the hotel in snow we then waited 10 minutes for one of the Hostesses at The Chandelier Room to great us. We went into the elevator and then they made us get out and wait again. 1 Hostess was placing a bottle order and the other hostess was doing nothing. Then the same doorman who told us we needed to walk around the hotel and enter from the outside let in several people from the indoor entrance we asked to enter through. After we had walked around the hotel in the snow, waited 10 minutes, got into an elevator and then out, the hostess told us that we 4 young ladies needed to buy a bottle in order to enter The Chandelier room. To require 4 women to buy a bottle after just spending $250 dollars on dinner including a bottle of wine is ridiculous. We walked away highly dissatisfied with our night at the W.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Sonic7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the W for a quick 1 night getaway and was very satisfied - got a free upgrade to a nice & large suite and had beautiful views of the entire NYC skyline which we really enjoyed

Hotel was very nice, service was very good and was very happy with the service

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the NYC skyline - it's very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elchan181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the W Hotel in Hoboken from January 31- February 2nd. The hotel is lovely - great lobby, wonderful bath products, amazing views, good restaurant, etc. However, the doormen were scarce, as was the concierge. We ordered a car to go out one evening and it was not waiting for us as scheduled. The door was rarely opened for us. And then there was the noise. The gentleman next door to us was yelling and screaming at someone on the phone at 4am. We called security once and the noise did not stop. It was so loud that you could not only hear it in our room, you could hear it all the way down the hall. We called security a second time and finally the yelling ceased, after an hour. What an awful night's sleep for us. I am not sure if I would stay here again. The W Hoboken presents itself as a place with exceptional service and I do not feel we received that during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krisw1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced. We take our guest feedback seriously and I know that’s not what you expect when you stay with us for rest and relaxation. I must also apologize our Security team did not respond in a timely manner. This is certainly not typical of our hotel and I will be addressing this with my team immediately. At W, we do strive to uphold the highest levels of service and we look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. – Anna M., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoboken
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#2 of 14 in Jersey City
2,944 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River St, Hoboken, NJ 07030-4772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range: $205 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in everything from W Hoboken, an iconic landmark on the waterfront where magnificent Manhattan unfolds before your eyes. Hot nightlife, decadent dining and sizzling shopping, just steps or a ferry ride away. What’s cooler than Sinatra’s town? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing