We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers, good place to bring kids for better fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Ranked #33 of 73 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great burgers, good place to bring kids for better fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good burgers, double patty for regular burgers, small burgers have one patty. Lots of free toppings. Burger is a huge meal. We ordered a large fry and it comes in a cup and the guy poured another 2 cups into the bag loose...kind of gross but appreciated the extra fries. This is a good place to feed the kids once in a while when craving a burger and wanting to avoid the McDonalds, etc. Pricey. 3 burgers, 3 drinks and fries over $30 bucks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grolsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$13 For A Burger & Fries?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

OK, 5 Guys has decent burgers and fries. Downright tasty. But, go in and order a cheeseburger, fries, and coke... 13 bucks. Yup. No thanks. I'll go have a salad at Smashburger.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still waiting for the fries that I hear Five Guys are famous for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stopped by yet again for the fries that I'm always hearing that Five Guys are getting rave reviews for and walked out with a bag of limp, steamy, no salt fries, but thet were hot. Third try at the Hillsborough location at different times of the day. I really want what this food critic wrote:

All future, non-Five Guys french fry-eating experiences are destined to be ruined. I don't know how to describe how perfect that first bite was, through the delicate, salt-studded, crispy crust to the soft innards, but my reaction was probably something like, "Oh my god these fries are made of crack and rainbows and how the hell can fries taste this good oh sweet jesus I'mgonnaeattenmore." Pang's description is much more eloquent: "The fries tip more crispy than crunchy, and the interior has a creamy consistency with assertive potato-ey notes." The potato-ey notes in my fries were from Pasco, Washington, according to the whiteboard by the potato sacks. Thanks, Pasco!

Just let me experience this just once!!! Is it this location and if so, maybe the fry person needs some help from the higher ups. . . .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fries tasted burnt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The food was okay but Golden Dawn offers a much larger burger, cooked to order, and fries that are not burnt nor bounce like a wet noodle.

Helpful?
Thank Sebastiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A better burger joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a giant step up from other fast food burger places. Very good burgers and fries. A little greasy but good, not for the health conscience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank deyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing