We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Improvments will pay off”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joey G's Grill and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joey G's Grill and Bar
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recent Improvments will pay off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

When they priginally opened they separated the bar and restaurant but the tables/booths were too dark and it wasn't a warm feeling. They used to have too much on the menu and most options were just average. The recently embraced teh bar atmosphere and took down the wall - it has a nice, casual atmosphere that is still family-friendly. The menu had a make over as well - cutting down on the number of items and focusing on what they do best - burgers, sandwiches, salads and apps...bar food. good bar food and great beers on tap

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank A2ZNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't be returning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Quick review:

Meat on nachos tasted like old Hormel chili

Burger was overcooked

Pulled pork was strangely spicy

Meatballs were hard and according to my daughter "tasted like Chef Boyardee"

Beer tasted like chlorine (maybe from rinse?)

We won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AverageTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good sport's bar, food is decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Plenty of TV's in the bar area to watch sports; food is not bad but I would not make a special trip just to eat dinner. Good place to go to hang out with family or friends. Staff is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chetski0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not worth a second trip!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I have tried this restaurant/bar several times and the service and food are always "off". On our last visit the beer glasses were warm, my husband's fries were cold and my Cobb Salad came without the chicken. Received it ten minutes later. All in all, poor service and very average food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
606 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Average Sports Bar and Restaurant - But Very Decent Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you're fond of Sports Bars you'll probably feel at home here (at least on the bar side of the building) but we felt a bit uncomfortable. The dining area is a huge room with very "cold" feeling between the painted walls and the plain booths. The bar area is a screaming multi-media sports bar with tons of bar chairs and usually the typical sports crowd.
The menu was huge and very well priced and we had the Smokehouse Ribs and Brisket entree's. Both were nicley cooked and tasty and priced very well at $15.99 each. The wine was also quite good at priced at only $6.00/glass. Our server Nancy was very good and cordial. I think if the new management would give the dining area a facelift with the idea of making it more cozy we would have enjoyed it more. With huge ceilings and an expansive room, we felt like we were at a cafeteria. Otherwise, it's a good place to get a decent meal at a very good price!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey G's Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing