We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST DINER AROUND”

Hillsborough Star Diner
Ranked #38 of 73 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST DINER AROUND”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A Very Good Family Diner” new menu more salad sections, perfect kids menu, TRY.... those who writes negative comments who you working for ?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Engin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    16
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No cars in the parking lot should have been a sign”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We pulled in here for a late afternoon bite to eat. I was a little concerned that there was not a single car in the parking lot. But it's New Jersey, the inventors of Diners, so how bad could it be. Well, we found out soon enough. I think we saw the waitress a total of 3 times. Once for our order, once to bring the food and after asking the hostess for the check, she came over with it. We were the only people in the place. Where was she? So for service, one star.
Then food came out, I got a burger that looked like it was sitting in water for an hour with the cheese melted on to a stale bun. I don't remember what my friend ate, but talking to him later in the week I found out he had been having stomach issues for several days. When I reminded him of our little pit stop, a light bulb went off for him.
This was just an overall poor experience. But don't worry New Jersey, we'll give another Diner a shot to keep your reputation for them strong. But I'll pass the next time I pass this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wildleo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Very Good Family Diner”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our family has enjoyed occasional breakfasts and lunches: and, mainly dinners at the Hillsborough Star Diner for approximately ten (10) years). We have NEVER experienced a serving that has not met our expectations. Whenever we visit our family, five to six times a year, one of the first comments from our grandsons (now ages 11 and 14 years) is “When are we going to the Star Diner?” The Star Diner is a very good family diner albeit not a “fine restaurant.” If you visit the Star Diner with the attitude it is a “diner” you will, in all likelihood, have an enjoyable meal.

Typically we enjoy their “Mini Meals” offering a serving size a tad smaller than a full platter but more than adequate. The mini-meal includes: choice of soup or salad, potato or pasta, vegetables and dessert of under $12.00 per person. With a meal you can enjoy a cock of French Onion soup (yummy) for an additional $1.50 (normally $4.50 when order alone). The mini-meals we order most often include: broiled scallops, meatloaf, stuffed flounder, stuffed shrimp and liver and onions.

When entering the Star Diner note the board listing the full platter specials. My past favorites included: broiled seafood combo, baked lasagna, braised short ribs and mussels marinara. Prior to getting too set on a special make sure they remain available as they are snapped up quickly.

For a lighter fare their sandwiches are served with French fries, Cole slaw and pickle with choice of bread. My personal favorites are corned beef and pastrami sandwiches. Their burgers are not undersized and are cooked as ordered.

Overall, the eating areas (booth and table) and the restrooms are clean. The table service is fairly quick and adequate. During special events (Mother’s Day and other holidays) and on weekends the dinner hours are quite busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sven21740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful food AND service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place has awful food and the service is horrible! And the food is pricey to boot!! I would rather drive all the way to bridgewater to go to a better diner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisiek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Average Diner”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An extensive menu with pleasant service but just so-so food. The Reuben hamburger sounded good but the sauerkraut was too contrary to the other tastes.Good for late night dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough Star Diner also viewed

 
 

Been to Hillsborough Star Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing