We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavern On The Lake

Tavern On The Lake
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Hightstown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tavern On The Lake is a Family Restaurant and Sports Bar. We have food and drink specials Mon. thru Thur. and live Bands every Fri. and Sat. night. Our upstairs Banquet Hall can hold up to 200 people. We open at 11:30am everyday.
E.Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We're locals and have been here many times through a series of owners. It's always been.a 50-50 call on food, service, etc. the current draw is outdoor patio Seating Which is very appealing on a lovely day. This past weekend we couldn't resist and what a mess. One waiter,Nick ,was busting his chops; unfortunately he wasn't ours. The patio was less than half full with 3 servers. Inside there were two tables occupied and a handful of people at the bar. It took us 1/2 hour to get a drink and an hour to get our food...a burger and a sandwich. My husbands fries arrived cold. The waitress blamed it on the kitchen..however there were people at a table next to us who arrived after us & were served before us. I checked the trip advisor ratings and they're all,over the place with lots of negatives. Do,the owners care???or is their business flow and location good enough that they dont feel a need for improvement!!!?this place could be hopping but I sense apathy. food was pretty good..only reason I have 2 stars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalasvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    42
    29
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old, Dirty Place - subpar food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just went here for the first time on Sat. 6/7. It wasn't a memorable experience. The place was packed with several parties going on. I was surprised at how rundown and dirty the place is on the inside! My seat was LOW...I felt like a toddler at the adults table. Seriously, I was a few inches lower than my husband who sat on the bench part of the table. Dirty tables, dirty floor, dirty menus and my husband's menu was missing the dinner page.

I had the corned beef sandwich, which wasn't too bad. The corned beef was "pulled" and I was surprised that it tasted good. My husband had the rosemary chicken w/mashed potatoes and blanched spinach. He said the spinach was the ONLY thing on his plate that he felt was edible.

It will be the last time that we visit this restaurant -- it's surprising how many people were in there and how many regulars frequent it. It's popular for some reason - but for us, never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationBound23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe TOWNSHIP, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I like there Wings, Potato Skins, Burgers and Pasta with Seafood alot. I have my Class Reunions there every 4 years. I just recently went there with my friends in April. I celebrated my 60th Birthday there in Sept. 2013.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mother59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I expected more for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great customer service but our food arrived cold and the pizza was burnt. The fries were over cooked and very greasy. The wings didn't have any sauce and were very dry. The best items we ordered were the cheese quesdilla and the grilled chicken greek salad. I would not recommend this hotel and I would not order take out. The food is not worth the money you will pay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My hotel recommended this sports bar to me when I asked where to go for dinner. It did not disappoint. They had the games playing at the bar, the service was superb!! Our waitress went above and beyond to make us happy! The food was really good! I even had dessert, which I shouldn't have because I was so full! They had a band playing. The crowd was decent, and very diversified. There were college kids and then older folks. Even a family or two were in there! Definitely a great place to eat and hang! During the summer I would imagine you could sit outside because they had all the tables out there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bentley1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern On The Lake also viewed

 

Been to Tavern On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing