We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No elegance by the sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SeaScape Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Highlands B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No elegance by the sea”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The website states "Experience elegance by the sea" but beware.
First of all, you are nowhere close to the sea. It's located on the Highlands hills and it will take you 5/10 minutes to reach the closest beach (by car, in case you wanted to climb a 2000 feet hill by bike on the way back). As for the view, yes you can see the ocean from one side of the house, but the view is right on the ugly bridge that connects the mainland to the Sandy Hook island. Not the prettiest sea view I've experienced.
As for the elegance, when you arrive you will have to cross a large school parking lot that let me down as soon as we arrived. The small park around the house looks like some company was digging gold or installing gas pipes recently and left the ground upside down.
The room where we stayed felt like a lived-in space that was never remodeled for guests.
On the plus side the personnel working there seem to be kind enough to listen to the guest requests and do their best to make the staying pleasant.

In summary if you are expecting a high-end, luxury B&B as described on the website, pass. The place ain't very cheap either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robikubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This summer will be our 7th stay at SeaScape Manor. We stay every summer while visiting Sandy Hook. The rooms are all very nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff and pets are wonderful and the breakfasts are terrific! We can't say enough great things about this Awesome B&B!!!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is our personal favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eeshakitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This B&B provides what is promised. A very comfy and hospitable place to stay at a very reasonable price. I choose this B&B because of the pet freindly policy. The manor is not convenient to restaurants and shops but due to it being up on the bluff and isolated the manor provides great views of the ocean and a place where pets can wander safely about. The owners are very diligent and friendly. The breakfasts are the best I have had in years. Complimentary beverages throughout the day and night are appreciated. Yes, the house is old but it is well maintained and kept clean as we had no issues with anything. Other visitors during our stay at the manor were frequent repeat visitors and were friendly and had nothing but good things to say about the place and its owners. My friend, my one year old black lab and I really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuttToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
62208
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This B&B should either be closed as a B&B or completely remodeled. The pics on the web site in no way reflect what you will find when you get there.
Location: have to drive through a high school parking lot to reach the inn.
We did not even stay one night because of the musty smell that hit us as we walked in. I have allergies no way I could stay here. Also place is simply cluttered beyond attractiveness.
We will still charged a full night's stay even though we had to leave. Most places would not do that if customer isn't satisfied.
JB

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank ChapP62208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seascape1, Owner at SeaScape Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Thank you for expressing your opinion. You stated to us when you arrived that you are 'allergic to old'. We can't understand why you even booked with us. Our bed & breakfast was described on our website as being over 120 years old with antique furniture and period decor. Perhaps you did not understand that this meant our home is vintage and the decor is of the period. There are pictures of our rooms on the website and they are extremely accurate. We cater to guests that want to feel like they are going home to grandma's. You obviously chose the wrong place to stay. Most standard bed & breakfast's are by definition an old house restored for guests. Since you were here only 5 minutes and never saw the guest room, perhaps you didn't fully appreciate the large spacious room, the beauty of the ocean view, the beautiful landscaping and wonderful deck overlooking the ocean. There is nothing wrong with the upkeep of our house. It is meant to look like an 1889 farm house and it is lovingly cared for and kept fresh and dust free. We have inspection certificates that will confirm this. We are honored to have the original hardwood floors and the original plastered walls. We are sorry you did not like our B&B. We wonder why you would book in a vintage house if you are allergic to old. We will refund your deposit and hope you choose to stay in modern hotels from now on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We just spent a long weekend at the SeaScape manor and loved every minute of it. The breakfast was outstanding and the friendliness of the staff was great as well. If you are in a hurry though we will warn you that breakfast takes a while but well worth the wait. Both mornings we were at breakfast at 8am but were not done breakfast till 9:30 but there is no way we would miss this breakfast. Only caused an issue on Saturday because we wanted to be at the beach by 9:30 to make sure we could get parking at the beach. We got to the parking lot at about 9:45 and got one of the last spots in the lot we wanted to park at.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the compimentary soda, water, wine, and ice was unexpected. The view from our room which was the Precious Moment room was amazing. Beautiful view of the sunrise, the only downside was at sunrise it becomes hard to sleep because of the sun shinning in your room. The blinds just can't keep the light out.

The resturant also provided us with resturant recommendations and they were great. Off the hook is a nice place for bar food and Bahrs had good seafood but the highlight of our trip was Wind and Sea. The food and service here was amazing.

They provided beach passes which we utilized everyday. The beach was incredible as well.

Be sure to leave time to visit the lighthouse and some of the other tourist attractions on Sandy Hook.

So overall this place was outstanding and we will be visiting everyyear.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brilovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I booked rooms at this lovely B & B for guests at my daughter's wedding. Everyone raved about the hospitality, service, charm, location, views, and the wonderful breakfast! Nearby restaurants, beaches, lighthouses, trails & woods gave everyone something to do in their off time. Highly recommend this gem of a spot for anyone looking for a great getaway!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed in the precious moments room. Very cozy and romantic. Soaking tub for 2 and a private terrace overlooking the ocean. Nice breakfast. Easy commute from New York City area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank che4sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
3.2 mi away
Blue Bay Inn
Blue Bay Inn
#1 of 1 in Atlantic Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oyster Point Hotel
Oyster Point Hotel
#2 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#1 of 1 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Courtyard Lincroft Red Bank
10.8 mi away
Best Western Hazlet Inn
5.4 mi away
Molly Pitcher Inn
Molly Pitcher Inn
#3 of 4 in Red Bank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaScape Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaScape Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: SeaScape Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Grand Tour, Highlands, NJ 07732-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Highlands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean SeaScape Manor welcomes guests with her comfortable hospitality. Antique filled rooms, private decks, private bathrooms, oversized tubs,gourmet breakfasts, fireplaces, cozy down comforters, great restaurants, hiking and biking trails,& Sandy Hook National Park all await the weary traveler looking for fun and relaxation. Business travelers will appreciate the Wifi, fax machine and business friendly policies. Escape to elegance today. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing