We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi restaurant in the area”

Midori Japanese Cuisine
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi restaurant in the area”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the best restaurants in Highland Park. Tasty food with a nice presentation.
The restaurant itself has nice interior decorations and a central emplacement by the main street.
The sushi was consistently good. It is not very diverse, but never disappointed. The service was friendly, but could have been faster.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Meh sushi, good service, busy atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I came here with a Groupon for lunch on a Wednesday afternoon. After trying to park for what seemed like forever (they have a tiny parking lot but it was full and halfway covered with snow), I finally found a spot 2 blocks away. I was seated right away and everyone was incredibly kind and attentive. However, everything I ate was just OK -- not what I'm going for when I go for sushi. The kani salad was very large, but drowning in dressing and very spicy. I got 3 fairly basic rolls because none of the "special" rolls seemed to be very special. They all seemed to be just thrown together with ingredients, rather than created to make good flavor blends. I played it safe with a Philadelphia roll, eel roll, and white fish tempura roll. The Philadelphia roll had fresh salmon but way too much cream cheese. The white fish tempura roll was very bland. The eel was the best of the bunch but nothing special. With so many great (and many cheaper, too) sushi options in central NJ, I won't be going back here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Highland Park ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Easily the best in the Highland Park AND New Brunswick area. Consistently fresh and well prepared sushi. Excellent and varied menu.

Helpful?
Thank mykidsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese place near Rutgers”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant on the "Main" street of Highland Park, within a short drive of any of Rutgers campuses. Nice ambiance, friendly service, good selection of sushi (as well as hibachi - we did not try). Quality of food excellent, well worth the price. For lunch, the $11.95 special, which includes soup or salad, one hand roll and one special roll, is a fair deal. The place filled up pretty quickly on a Saturday early afternoon - popular with students and local families alike.

Helpful?
1 Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi, Very Good Value”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We think the sushi and the rolls here are great. We like that it is BYOB and the service is excellent. We were surprised at how crowded it was on a Friday night, might need reservations. 4 of us ate sushi until we were stuffed and the bill was 80.00. Can't beat that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debezog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midori Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Midori Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing