We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabreeze Fishery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seabreeze Fishery
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Keansburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

seems more regular food than seafood on menu. customer service is good. food is tasty. Fresh seafood to take home to cook.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Jury is Out......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I were getting cabin fever after the big snowstorm, and decided to get a bite to eat at the Seabreeze Fishery. We've been meaning to try it since it took over from Dino's...a place we always used to enjoy.

Its still a BYO, so bring your beverages of choice with you. There is still a fish market attached, but they had no inventory when we got there....probably due to the snowstorm.

The new owners haven't done much with the decor....its pretty much the same as when it was Dino's. Plain, but nice. We had a VERY friendly and efficient hostess. I'm a pain in the butt, and she was very tolerant of me, and took care of my special requests without complaint or extra charges.

I started out with the Lobster and Shrimp Bisque. It was delicious. Not bland, but tasty, with lots of seafood in it. Well worth the reasonable cost (I think it was 5 or 6 dollars).

I had the fried seafood combo platter (Flounder, Scallops and Shrimp) and opted for the fried vs. the grilled version. The food seemed to be fresh, but I really didn't enjoy the texture very much. I got exactly what I asked for, but I guess I'm losing my taste for fried food.

My wife had the fish and chips. Frankly, it was a disappointment. She didn't like it at all. She said it didn't seem fresh, and it was overbreaded.

Both portions were healthy, and the check for two was a reasonable $50. I'm giving the place a so-so rating, but it might not be fair because as I said, my tastes may be changing. I'll give it another whirl and try something broiled next time.

Would I recommend this place to a friend? Its hard to, based on my experience, but I wouldn't discourage anyone from eating there. As you can see from other reviews, lots of people like it, and rave about the food.

Enjoy,if you try it, and please keep the reviews coming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“poor atmosphere, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

not a great value. If on a date avoid it. Looked like a good place for fresh fish to cook at home with a restaurant added as an afterthought.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B1gDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BYOB-Good Seafood, Not so much for Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I would think that going in, you would not expect much in regards to atmosphere, so I hesitate to "ding" too much on this rating, I would describe it as a good "seafood diner". Service was "homey" and typical of good diners. I selected a fresh "broiled" mixed seafood entree and it was well above average which is significant as most anything tastes great "deep fried"! Good choice for a moderately priced dinner choice for those craving seafood, other choices are available and you can enjoy your own wine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmel1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value! Yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We first took grandma and grandpa here for their b-days and the unbeatable Lobster special. Kids got chicken parm and inhaled it! We came back at my daughter's request for my b-day 1 month later. Beer battered fish and chips were heavenly! Great fresh fish market too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabreeze Fishery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing