We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down-to-earth meal preparations in an elegant setting”
Review of Bottagra

Bottagra
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Hawthorne
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lafayette
Description: Bottagra brings a Modern Mediterranean flare to a traditional Italian restaurant in North Jersey.Chef-Owner Carlo Carbonaro and Robert Vicari have fused their extensive restaurant and culinary expertise together, offering a variety of dishes originating from the northern and southern regions of Italy. The dining rooms are classic New York City exuding a unique feel reminiscent of modern Tuscan villas. Mosaic tiles adorn the walls; rich exquisite draperies in deep bronzes, golds and chocolate colors compliment the upscale feel to this new chic spot. Bottagra's menu features wonderful fresh and flavorful specials as well as a full bar and an extensive wine list. Experience Bottagra!
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Last night my wife and I again ate at this local favorite with another couple. I had a delicious corn, crab and shrimp bisque soup to start and thin pasta with assorted shellfish in a light tomato sauce as my main course. My wife had grilled octopus to start and baked halibut with veggies as her main course. For dessert we both had an assortment of gelato and sorbet. We both thoroughly enjoyed our choices, as we have done many times before this visit, going back to the 70's. We both brought home enough from the ample portions that we have a ready-made dinner for tonight. With tip, tax and drinks, our bill came to $165 which is a bit on the high side, but not for this high level of quality ingredients and the very good service we received from Jaime and his staff. Valet parking is provided on premises. This fine restaurant will remain in our regular rotation of favorite local eateries.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2017

We were 2 couples. While our waiter and bus boy were pleasant, butter was forgotten, had to ask 2x, water sometimes was refilled quickly, other times, not so much. After we received our appetizers, we did not see our water again except when it was time to order dessert. Appetizers ordered were gravlax (pretty good), caesar salad and crab cakes (both just ok) and a shrimp cocktail, good. Entrees were filet mignon (our friends enjoyed), grilled shrimp - they were good, but we all agreed that the vegetables and potatoes were just eh. And lastly, a chicken parm which we were told was the best east of the Mississippi - Arturo's in Midland Park is far better. We got sorbet for dessert, which was good. Would I come back? Probably not. Better Italian restaurants closer to home.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank BarbaraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Yummy sums it up...great service...varied menu...lovely atmosphere...excellent
for parties as well...they do a great job

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mufburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Bottagra begins and ends with customer service in mind. The greeting, management, the bar and, wait staff, kitchen staff and even the parking lot attendants are helpful and courteous. The food is impeccably prepared; the menu offers a wide variety of dishes and the specials are always interesting, leaving the choice difficult. Never a disappointment.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Stop at the bar for a drink, it's worth getting there early for your reservation just to have a drink here. The bartender is friendly and professional and he knows how to make a great drink.
The menu offers a wide variety of pastas, chicken and veal anyway you want them, steaks, chops and pork chop to die for.
The service is very professional, friendly and attentive to your needs. Valet parking is offered. This is definitely a restaurant to return to.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimr279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottagra also viewed

 

Been to Bottagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing