We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Disappointed”
Review of Bottagra

Bottagra
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottagra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lafayette
Description: Bottagra brings a Modern Mediterranean flare to a traditional Italian restaurant in North Jersey.Chef-Owner Carlo Carbonaro and Robert Vicari have fused their extensive restaurant and culinary expertise together, offering a variety of dishes originating from the northern and southern regions of Italy. The dining rooms are classic New York City exuding a unique feel reminiscent of modern Tuscan villas. Mosaic tiles adorn the walls; rich exquisite draperies in deep bronzes, golds and chocolate colors compliment the upscale feel to this new chic spot. Bottagra's menu features wonderful fresh and flavorful specials as well as a full bar and an extensive wine list. Experience Bottagra!
Fair Lawn NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointed”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had dinner here on a stormy Saturday evening. We had an early reservation for 6:30 p.m. Food was delicious, no complaint here. Server was attentive in the beginning, but then he appeared to get lost. We waited quite some time after finishing dinner for dessert to be offered. They really need a good pastry chef because dessert offerings are slim pickings. Nothing at all enticed two diners in our party. And then we waited, and waited, and waited. No one ever returned to offer a refill of coffee and we still waited, and waited to get someone's attention to get our check. Really, a relaxed dinner is appreciated, but we never got out of there until 9 p.m.! The worst part of the evening is the acoustics. The place became "packed" within minutes of our being seated. They also have a huge bar crowd. By the time we were served we could not have a conversation. Most diners were actually yelling across their tables to talk to the members in their party. THEY MUST DO SOMETHING WITH THE ACOUSTICS AND DECOR TO REDUCE THE SOUND. I do not plan on returning on a weekend. Maybe I'll try it during the week, hoping it won't be so crowded!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janyFairLawnNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sooo Good!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just celebrated our 50th class reunion at Bottagra, on Sunday October 6th & I must admit not only was the food exceptional, the service was also outstanding. Everyone had a wonderful time, thanks to Robert & his staff.
I hope to see you again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Bottagra last night, food was mediocre and the wait for courses to be served was horrible. Irregardless of a very courteous dining room staff we were seated for a 6:30 dinner reservation and at 8:30 we still did not have our main course. The items that were pan fried tasted like the cooking oil used was old...was the breaded veal Milanese so dark as a result? The cannoli shells also had an off taste....stale? Or poor quality oil used? Doubtful we will return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMP508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had another outstanding dinner. THE BEST! Kudos to the chef. From the salad to dessert, everything was very tasteful and enjoyable. Danny is a great maitre 'd....be sure to ask for him when you go. He is knowledgable and very, very friendly and entertaining. Looking forward to our next visit there. Oh, be sure to try the apple crisp. It comes in its own skillet!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but high wine prices”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We usually try to go during the week for the early bird which is a great value. My girlfriend loves the raw clams on the half shell as her appetizer. All the food is well above average and though the portions are cut down for the early bird, it is still a good value. The wine prices on the other hand make no sense. I mean the décor is really nice and comfortable and the service is well above average though bordering on intrusive at times, but to go to an early bird and have to pay $30.00 for a bottle of wine kind of negates the value of the early bird. There are plenty of great value wines out there. Early bird business would increase significantly if you could get a reasonable priced bottle of wine thereby getting people in the door in the hope for repeat business. We like it but there are plenty of more reasonable places around Bergen and Passaic counties. Davia's in Fair Lawn is not as pretty but much, much more reasonable so we only go to Bottagra's once in a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rich8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottagra also viewed

 

Been to Bottagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing