We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and close to NYC, but rooms need work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and close to NYC, but rooms need work”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was cheap and close to NYC but it needs some work. The room we got was very loud, something which we couldn't figure out in the room was so loud and obnoxious it was too much. It sounded like a lawn mower was running non stop. So we asked for another room and they moved us. It was better. The customer service needs some work. They advertised for a happy hour in the lobby but all the nights we were there, they did not have one and it was a bummer. False advertisement!! The rooms need to be cleaned a little better. But the stay was nice, I would come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear AshCali21,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review our hotel. I'm sorry that we didn't meet all your expectation during your visit. If possible I would like to speek to you about your experience
so I can get more details about your stay. I want to make things right so our next guest doesn't
encounter the same experience. We do have a Happy Hour Monday - Friday 5pm -7pm in our restaurants bar. I'm sorry if there was any confussion in any literature you may have recieved. Please feel free to call me at your nearest convenience @201-288-9600 ext 7700 or email cpaduch@hihasrooms.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    168
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
105
106
14
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stay here 2-5 days a month usually. Stephanie and Joyce are the absolute best! Rooms are nice and cozy and restraunant has quality dinning. Stephanie always has time to take my calls and answer ALL of my unusual questions I have for her! She and her staff are my favorite of all the hotel staff that I encounter throught the country. If I was management I would double their pay as they are certainly worth every cent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Climb350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It is so kind of you to write such a wonderful review about our staff. We appreciate your comments and I will share them with our staff. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a New York City trip planned (at Christmas time) and I was appalled at the city hotel prices. Because I'm cheap, I started looking around and found this Holiday Inn (one of several outside of The City near the Meadowlands) I was so pleased with myself for booking this hotel. We had some points on our Priority Club account, so we used the points & cash option. BONUS!

After the usual hellish 'leaving NYC' traffic, we found this place with very little problems. (The only real problem was the windshield wiper crapping out, but that's a different story) Another small bonus was one parking space left for us on a Saturday night. This place was BUSY! We were checked in quickly & efficiently, and given directions to our room in The Tower. The room was very clean, and quite spacious for a NYC area room. (Not like the Chinatown Holiday Inn where we had to go into the hall to change our mind, but it's in the city)

Anyway. Nice room in 'the tower' overlooking the McDonalds on the side. No biggie. With some fiddling, the curtains closed completely and blocked out the parking lot lights from outside.

Dinner was in the hotel restaurant, Gabriels. It was fine. There were several bus tours staying there and it seemed the bus tour folks all descended on the restaurant at once. The staff seemed a little overwhelmed, but handled it very well. The food was fine (wings & salads) and the waiter was very attentive. There is also a comedy club in this hotel, and that attracted quite a crowd.

For your morning coffee needs, the restaurant has breakfast, but there is a McDonalds next door, and a Dunkin' Donuts within walking distance for good coffee.

Now that we know about this Holiday Inn, we'll be staying here on the next NYC trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your visit to our hotel. Im glad that you enjoyed your visit and the use of our facilities. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overall it was a great stay at the Holiday Inn. The staff was for the most part friendly and helpful. Especially the night staff and the woman who helped us with the bus schedule! The restaurant was yummy and reasonably priced, the portions were huge!! The staff in the restaurant was a little slow but friendly. The rooms were clean and kept up, except for the outlets on the light fixture and desk which were loose and so could not be used, but this was not a problem as wall outlets were available.
The only problem we had was with the shuttle. It took 45 min to get the shuttle and then it was almost full and so couldn't take my whole group (8) to the bus stop. So in the future I just wouldn't count on that to get me anywhere.
Getting into the city was easy and the bus stop was an easy 10 min walk. The bus was a little late everyday but it is public transit so what do you expect =).
Anywho, overall i would stay here again or recommend a stay!

Room Tip: There are two sides to the hotel. One side is farther from the desk but has an elevator and is relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwSe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your visit at our Holiday Inn. It's a pleasure to hear such positive comments about our staff and how much you enjoyed the quality and quanity of food from our restaurant Gabriel's. Please accept my apologies for the delay in shuttle service. Sometimes we get backed up in runs, but this is something we are working to improve. We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I were supposed to stay at the hotel from November 8th till the 12th. Sadly, we missed one day due to the fact that our flight was cancelled because of the snowstorm. It was an awesome time at the hotel though! The staff treated us respectfully and was always nice! Even though they had to handle so much (hurricane, snowstorm, ..) they care for their guests. our room was so lovely, the beds were absolutely comfortable and most importantly it was always clean. since we are from Austria and had no clue about the bus and stuff the staff explained everything to us. The shuttle bus is a very good service. the driver were soo super nice and they also care about the guests. To cut a long story short - we truly enjoyed staying there and are already looking forward to our next stay there :))
Thank you all so much for making this holiday unforgettable and enjoyable! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juleey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello Juluey,
We are so glad that you got to spend your holiday with us. We appreciate your postive comments about our hotel, our comfortable rooms and our great staff. Thank you.
We look forward to your return next year. Best wishes and Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland united kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for four nights from the 1st nov could not have asked for a better hotel the way were treated was absolutely fantastic. Joyce the receptionist was a little gem and Charlie the manager was so nice. Our room was so comfy after a long days shopping in manhattan. They had so much to deal with after the hurricane and still made us feel special. Room service is very fast and tasty. Recommend Gabriel's grill for tea was fab. All in all we had a fantastic time at the holiday inn can't wait to return with my husband thank you all from the wheelchair girls (Amanda) x x

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amandax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Amanda,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure getting to know you girls. I will let the staff know of your comments. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to and hope you come back to see us real soon. Best wishes. Charlie GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had four nights here at the end of our two and a half weeks in the US, we have stayed at a number of hotels in this area over the last few years and this was without doubt the best. It was all we have come to expect of Holiday Inn, really helpful staff throughout our stay and the shuttle service and the shuttle drivers were fantastic, so helpful and so friendly, so thank you to everyone. We will certainly be back the next time we need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Meadowlands, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review about our hotel and our staff. We appreciate your comments and I will be sure to share them with our staff. If you find your way back to the NJ Meadowlands/ NYC area we invite you to come stay with us again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hasbrouck Heights
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck Heights
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck...
#1 of 3 in Hasbrouck Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hasbrouck Heights / Meadowlands
Hilton Hasbrouck Heights / Meado...
#3 of 3 in Hasbrouck Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#2 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights

Property: Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights
Address: 283 Route 17 South, Hasbrouck Heights, NJ 07604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hasbrouck Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hasbrouck Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn of Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey and we'll show you the best ways to see the vibrant metropolitan area. Our hotel is just minutes from big time sports and entertainment at The Meadowlands featuring the new MetLife Stadium home to the NY Giants, NY Jets, The New Izod Center and Coming Soon the American Dream at the Meadowlands. Enjoy big business and the dynamic nightlife of New York City - Manhattan just 20 minutes from the hotel. You will enjoy our tastefully appointed guest rooms, conference areas, banquet rooms, restaurant, lobby and more! Now available on site, Bananas Comedy Club with show packages every Friday and Saturday. Our facilities offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, 24 hour business center offering complimentary Internet access, Windows, Word, FAX and a copy machine, guest laundry facilities, 24 hour on-site fitness room, seasonal outdoor pool, and concierge service. Plus complimentary shuttle service within a three mile radius of the hotel. All this and the area's most experienced team of service professionals. Our friendly staff wants you to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Kognitiv US Corp, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hasbrouck Heights Hotel Hasbrouck Heights
Hasbrouck Heights Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing