We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Shuttle Service Offered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in October 2013. Rooms were clean , the staff are very helpful.

We took a free shuttle that drops you off at the train station. They offer shuttle back to the hotel where they dropped you off. Just make sure you get there before the driver ends for the night. If you miss him get off at the Harrison stop on the NJ Transit. From there its a short walk to the hotel. I will know this for next time.

Breakfast was okay , gets busy mid morning so get there early or go down the street to Dunkin Donuts.

Parking can get limited but always had a spot. If you park irregular just let the front desk know.

Over all we had good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpappas_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 999 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

We reserved this hotel on the 3rd of October for 6 days during Xmas (23dec to the 28 déc.) it was taken off our credit card and non-refundable. Called last night to inquire about wifi and they have over-booked the hotel and no longer have our room!!!!!! Unbelievable!!!!! I am so upset! Can you imagine driving from Montreal to find out we no longer have a place to stay! They did not refund our credit card by the way when they decided to cancel the reservation!!!! Pathetic! Horrible hotel and please be careful when you book here because you might show up only to find that you are out of a room and out of $$$$

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Bloke272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Could not be happier with this hotel for our purposes, a three generation (14, 43 and 66 year old) "girls" trip to NYC for some Christmas cheer. I booked and paid weeks in advance and was quite happy, upon a late arrival after hours of driving, to have a speedy, friendly check-in with no hassle getting the double room that I booked (my last two reservations through other vendors frustratingly resulted in only king availability in spite of a reservation.) The convenience of free, on-site parking, a hot breakfast, and the hotel shuttle to Penn Station Newark were invaluable. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I had concerns about the train noise referenced in other reviews but we had no problems sleeping (exhaustion may have factored in on that front). Our waits for the shuttle were reasonable/acceptable. Staff did have some difficulty keeping breakfast foods filled on busy mornings but we had no problem getting a decent start to our day. Especially with the HOT coffee, a real treat. Staff recommendation to Tops Diner was spot on, too! Would not hesitate to use this hotel again for a NYC trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyOpEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great welcome from Front Office staff upon arrival, offered mints by Breakfast Attendant as I finished my breakfast and 5:30am Shuttle Driver was friendly and informative. Thank a lot Hampton Inn Riverwalk!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent hotel with exceptional service close to New York City ( just a quick 20 minute train ride). Very accommodating and located in a safe area. The rooms are clean and very spacious. Very good value. A comparable room in the city would cost three times more. The complementary breakfast was good. The staff working the breakfast area worked very hard to make sure everyone was satisfied. They replenished the food right up until the bar closed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was fabulous. Hotel and rooms were very clean. Shuttle service was phenomenal. Indoor pool and fitness room located on main floor. Pool is enclosed with glass windows, overlooking the river, and has a spacious pool deck with tables and chairs. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

the Hotel is very clean and is closed to Penn station Newark. If you have to go to New York, PATH is only $2.50 each way. For faster train service, use NJ Transit train, $10.50 each way. I am highly recommended to stay in this location if you are on a budget and don't mind commuting into New York on the train.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#1 of 2 in Harrison
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range: $134 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing