We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Newark Penn Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Close to Newark Penn Station”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I wanted to find a hotel close to Newark Penn Station for a three days trip into New York. We recently stayed at the Hilton Newark Penn Station and also enjoyed it, but did not like the parking fee. The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk hotel is ideal. The hotel has shuttles which will drive you to Newark Penn Station and pick you up when you call. The parking is free and the neighborhood is nice. I had HHonor points and used it for my stay. Would stay here again, the morning staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    278
    64
    26
    28
See reviews for
412
154
44
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rye, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall a positive experience. Staff was very friendly. I was able to check in at 11am and out at 1:00pm. Breakfast was good, but the eggs seemed powdered. I don't think I have seen a free happy hour with bottled beer before, that was a nice touch. Room was spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I discovered this Hampton Inn and Suites by chance after having stayed at two Hiltons and Comfort Inn and Suites in this area. What a fantastic find! I now stay at this hotel every time I come to the area and am Always satisfied. The first impression is made in the warm welcome and friendly-feel lobby which becomes part of the larger open breakfast-aperitivo-relax area with free tea and coffee are 24-hours. The pool is lovely with full-length windows and view of the river and sky, and open from 6:30am-11pm! The complimentary breakfast area has a good waffle making machine. A huge plus is the free shuttle service which can take you to the Penn Station where you can catch the Path train and arrive to Manhatten in 25minutes. The Business room here has printers too. Complimenti to the Hampton Staff for a job well done and willingness to solve any problems or questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sybil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Offers shuttle service to airport, train station and local businesses which eliminates the need for a rental car. Bed linens are very comfortable. Room features are what is needed for a business stay. Most staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again for business or with friends and family. Would not recommend as a romantic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank vitraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerbrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can't say enough about our stay at this property. The location was great, the staff was extremely helpful, the shuttle service was wonderful, and the breakfast was right on time. The rooms were immaculate, and I stayed on the side where the trains were going by......not a big deal at all. Also, don't you dare stay here without walking the few blocks to Top's Diner...they have everything from huge cheeseburgers to creme brulee and everything in between.... this hotel is a MUST STAY!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffany7287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend visit to NYC. The hotel offers shuttle service between the hotel and Newark Penn Station. This made it so easy to take PATH into/from the city. The accommodations were nice, and the staff was friendly and responsive. I'll definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there this part weekend for a wedding in the area. Clean, quiet place to stay for the weekend. Breakfast was just what I expected as well. That was all I had to say, but Tripadvisor is making me use 200 characters...that is harder than than it seems!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jkdavis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#2 of 2 in Harrison
298 reviews
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing