We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value & Location with Expected Hampton Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
132 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location with Expected Hampton Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Stayed here for an Industry Meeting in November for 3 nights. Had a couple of friends come with to enjoy NYC pre Christmas, and they found it very easy to navigate downtown with the free shuttle to the train down to the WTC and Times Square. The hotel was nice, rooms and beds very comfortable, the staff was great, the am breakfast was above average.
Also, they have free shuttle to and from Newark AIrport, but if you choose to drive, it also has free parking! I read other reviews talking about it being in a not so great neighborhood, but did not find that to be the case. We walked to the Italian restaurant called Spanish Pavillion a block away for dinner one night (highly recommend) and then about 2 blocks up the street the next morning for breakfast at Toops Diner (another recommendation) before a full day in NYC.
I would definitely stay here again with a business group of friends who want a nice place to stay with the downtown hotel rates or a concert right down the street at the Newark Arena.

  • Liked — Location Location Location !
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank taprennoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    238
    57
    19
    23
See reviews for
347
128
36
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo, new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

This was not a bad stop over for one night. The place was clean, bed was comfortable. We were on the third floor, which was a nonsmoking floor. The view was overlooking the river. The front desk clerk who checked us in at night was pleasant and helpful. She gave menus for nearby restaurants. In the morning we found the usual breakfast food in the lobby, and were satisfied with this. One comment: as we came downstairs in the morning, the front desk clerk was speaking loudly on the phone. She was yelling at or about some employees , apparently, in full earshot of all in the lobby. She said " They have no business being in that room, and if they want to keep their jobs they better..... and so on.. Rather unprofessional. One other problem was with the toilet, which ran all night.
We were very happy to have the free parking. Would probably stay here again if in the area

  • Liked — convenient location, free parking, clean
  • Disliked — toilet ran all night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petunia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

I can not say enough good things about this hotel--stayed there for three nights (Nov. 3-5) with my husband and step-son. We were on a hockey holiday-planned it and bought tickets before realizing that it was the weekend of the NYC Marathon, needless to say all the hotels in NYC were booked so I ended up here--a blessing in disguise!
This hotel was beautifully and tastefully decorated. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom resembled the ones in Treasure Island Hotel in Vegas...granite and expensive tile throughout. The excercise room and pool are open from 5:15am to 11:00pm. I started each day with a workout and a swim (great way to get geared up for the day). This place was super clean and although the hotel was booked solid--between the games, marathon, regular business travelers and Bon Jovi concerts, it never seemed crowded. I had the pool all to myself most of the time.
The location was the bomb! For the money you save on staying in NYC it is well worth staying here. The free shuttle the hotel offers is very reliable and will take you to penn station where you can pick up NJ Transit train for $4.00 it will take you directly to NYC penn station (a 20min. ride) I did this all three days and came home with one set of return train tickets as the conductors only collected my tickets one time on the way into NYC (I hear this is quite common)
Anyway, I found that I actually like staying just outside of the city better than in NYC as I always have before. It's nice to get away to some peace, quiet and comfort after a long day and night in NYC. Everyone I came in contact with from this hotel from the shuttle drivers, desk clerks, cleaning staff were super friendly and helpful. Oh, and the free breakfast was great--coffee super hot and yummy. Tops Restaurand--just two blocks away--had great food and good prices. The only thing that would have made this trip better is if the NJ Devils didn't get shut out by Pittsburgh but as amazing as this hotel was they couldn't do anything about that ;-) I can't wait to get back...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pongo616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We booked this hotel because we were seeing a concert at the New Prudential Center in Newark. The hotel looks brand new. It is well kept. The free breakfast was perfect. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. They provide a free shuttle to Penn Station Newark ( and the Prudential Center), which is 15 minute ride into Penn Station NYC. Free parking , which other hotels in the area were charging for. Good value!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

- Hotel was good-right on the river -newish, clean, kept up well.
- Had a good size, clean pool and nice patio area.
- Beds were great - slept better than I have in months.
- Business office onsite was nice to have (but printer needed fixing!)
- Elevators were reliable but you weren't getting anywhere fast
- If you had a car, the hotel was just off the highway; construction made it a little difficult to get to but hotel did have free covered parking with easy access to lobby when you got there.
- Fridge in rooms were great to have (a little noisy and froze everything but here's a hint... unplug it at night- it will still keep your stuff cold without freezing it and you won't have to hear it - but don't forget to plug it back in when you leave the next morning )

- Complimentary breakfast in the great room was good (basic US breakfast foods, fresh fruit, juices, coffee/tee, and a hot entree) - servers kept it up and were good about restocking.
- Bar drinks were available in the evening in the great room area(a little pricey and bar wasn't well attended but Hotel did sponsor a special gathering one night which was okay).
- There was no restaurant on site but there was food available via delivery or within a short 2-3 block walk and the hotel stocked a few items for purchase. (note - Topps Diner had good food, large portions, great variety, excellent service and was priced reasonably - they didn't like separate checks, though)

- Management staff and employees were all pleasant; and 99% spoke English.
-Employee, Lisa, was extra attentive & had a 'can-do' attitude - she made sure we had what we needed & when we needed it.
- Courtesy Shuttle guys were great - worth tipping well because taxis were never around and they were friendly and punctual and they facilitated trips to Penn Station and Newark. Vans were clean and safe.

Hotel worked well for our conference and I'd stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The bed was great - Employee Lisa went above and beyond on service for our conference
  • Disliked — no restaurant on or adjacent to property and elavators took forever
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wsptvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

I stay at the hampton Inn every week for business. It really can not be beat for location to the city and the price. The hotel is fairly new. The staff is friendly, and there is shuttle service to peen station Newark along with airport. It's not your typical Hampton, this is a pretty nice one. Downside is there are few restaurants in close proximity.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meintsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. If you have stayed at a Hampton Inn recently you will know what to expect. Same furnishings and decor throughout the hotel and in the rooms.

The breakfast area was large and served your standard hot and cold items. The indoor pool area was nice and was open unitl 11pm each night. The free wireless internet worked great. Free parking.

The location is great for those who want to see New York City without staying in the city. The hotel is only a few minutes off the New Jersey turnpike. It is located right across the Passic River from Newark. Behind the hotel is a nice area with benches and tables along the river which I guess you would call the "riverwalk".

The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel to Newark Penn Station, which is only about 5-10 minutes away. And from the station you can take the PATH train which costs only $1.50 each way. The PATH train will take you right to the World Trade Center which takes 20 minutes. The shuttle runs until 11pm. When you want to get the shuttle back to the hotel you have to call the front desk at the hotel and they will send the shuttle. If you call while you are still a few minutes away on the train, the shuttle will be there waiting for you.

  • Liked — Great value for the NYC area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TouristMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#2 of 2 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing