We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We visited NYC with family from England and we're not rich people but wanted to do our best for our visitors. Through the Internet I found this gem close enough for a quick train ride into the city and within our budget. The experience was wonderful from checking in to sadly checking out. We actually stayed an extra day because we didn't want to leave. The snack area is a little on the chintsey (poor) side but we fell in love with Tops Diner just down the road where you get great service and huge helpings of fantastic food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    268
    62
    25
    25
See reviews for
391
149
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our family and several other families went to New York City recently and stayed at this Hampton Inn. It was a convenient location, near New York but not right in the city, so it was considerably cheaper. Also, the free breakfast was a great bonus and the refrigerator allowed us to keep drinks and lunch meat so that we could make some extra meals. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the indoor pool was a big hit with the kids. One drawback was the train that ran right by the hotel, but if you can block out the noise (we kept the air conditioning running to create white noise!), you can still get a good night's sleep. We drove into the city from the hotel and were able to get in and out pretty easily. One night, we ate at the diner down the street and got tons of pretty good food for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is very nice and the room was very nice and very clean. The shuttle service to Newark Penn station was excellent and quick. This made for a very nice trip into New York City and I had to do was call them when I was one stop away from Newark Penn for pickup and they were there in about 10 minutes. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have never written a review before, but felt compelled to say how much we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The shuttle bus that took us to Penn Station every morning was a nice touch. We got lost and took a cab back the first night and it cost us $10.00. The shuttle bus drivers were efficient, courteous and very funny.

The complimentary breakfast was great. There was a wide selection of hot and cold foods, and if you went away hungry, it was your own fault.

The hotel itself was very easy to find. There is a Dunkin Donuts across the street for those that don't like hotel coffee.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and plan to stay here again myself when I plan my next NYC vacation.

Room Tip: Our room was a river view, but also had a lot of noise from the train. I don't know if the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2ksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very pleased with my one-night stay. Room was very clean, up-to-date, and had standard Hampton Inn features (minifridge/microwave; free Wifi). Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Despite being located right next door to the elevators, I had no noise issues from either the hall or adjoining room.

Common areas were also very clean. Although I did not use the fitness center, I regretted not bringing my gear, as it was larger and looked nicer than I find fitness centers in Hamptons to generally be. It featured three new-looking treadmills and at least two ellipticals -- there may have been more equipment, but I only did a quick glance through the door. Eating area for breakfast was spacious and featured a good amount of seating. Breakfast options were standard but more than adequate -- fresh fruit salad, yogurts, oatmeal, cereals, breads (english muffins, bread, bagels) with toaster and spreads (including peanut butter, honey, butter, jam, and cream cheese) available, and waffle maker. Hot options on my morning were home fries and southwestern-style omelets, which I did not sample but looked fine.

The hotel features a free shuttle service that will take you not only to the Newark train station but also to the Newark airport as well as various stops within Newark (for example, I had a meeting near City Hall, and they were more than happy to drop me off).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a great Hampton Inn. We stayed 2 nights on points over Labor Day weekend. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness center (enough exercise walking all over NYC), but both looked adequate. The breakfast area was huge, decent selection, and there's even a bar open in the evenings if you're so inclined. There is a free shuttle that goes to the airport and Newark's Penn Station, where you can take the PATH train into Manhattan.

The only blip of the entire stay was the shuttle. The first night we came down and asked when it would be there and were told 10-15 minutes. We walked over to the breakfast area (across the lobby), and wandered back over toward the front entrance after about 10 minutes, only to find out that the shuttle come, and gone. I was not that impressed with the front desk boys (literally, they all looked 20), in that they could have alerted the driver that people were waiting to get on it before it took off. It had been 10 minutes since we'd spoken with them, not an hour. And we were sitting 25 feet away. The next morning, there were a LOT of people waiting to get on it to go to the train station, and it was chaos when it finally pulled up, with each of the families jockeying for position to be able to get on it. There should be a better system, I'd think. First come, first served, take a number, something. We all managed to fit, with kids sitting on laps, but I would have been irritated if we'd had to wait another 35 minutes for it to come back, since we were (having learned our lesson the night before) standing outside the entrance waiting for it before anyone else.

The only other negative is the lack of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel itself. Then when you venture out in Newark, 99.9% of the restaurants have only on-street parking...so on a Saturday night, at 7:30pm, there was literally NO WHERE to park. Instead of a great little Mexican place, we ended up at Wendy's. YUCK!

Overall, though, the hotel was great. Basically brand new. Nice little riverwalk immediately behind the hotel. Free parking. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Staff were freindly and rooms very clean.
Had a shuttle to drop you off at places.
Shuttle even picked us up after Jersey/Leaf hockey game

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#2 of 2 in Harrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing