We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality Hotel at a Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was very very nice. The carpet in the wide hallways still smelled new. The hotel is (as its name suggests) directly on the Harrison, NJ Riverwalk.

Our shuttle service to and from Newark Penn Station was excellent. We usually had to wait no more than 5-10 minutes for pickup at Penn after arriving back from NYC. (The PATH train takes you into NYC in about 30 minutes if you ride directly to the World Trade Center.) The shuttles ran very efficiently, but this was on the weekend. We did not have any trouble getting to or from the station, and the drivers were all quite friendly.

The hotel's breakfast was very good. They had a wide array of choices--both hot and cold. The rooms and beds were very nice and comfortable.

This is probably one of the best hotel choices you could make while staying in the NYC area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

At first we wondered about the location, but this ended up being a great hotel spot to start our trip to New York City! The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast offered a nice variety. The hot food was hot and there was a good selection. The desk staff, breakfast staff, and drivers were friendly, informative and very professional. We loved having a free and timely shuttle to and from Penn station which made getting into and out of NY so much simpler and frustration free! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanceLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here on trip to Néw York. Staff was fabulous. Tony at checkin very helpful with telling us how to navigate the path rail. Tony shuttle driver very friendly. Loved Ana in the breakfast area who actually made my waffle for me. Rooms were great and bed very comfortable. Five minute shuttle ride to Newark Penn state to hope on path. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clmeltob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed in late october 2010 ...They made a small mistake and i payed room price and i got a suite with no extra.....Great people But if i will be there again i would be happy to pay more........The best hotel i have ever stayed in.....No words equal to what you will gain in comfort , cleaniness and the most kind staff you could met in your life..My advise stay in that hotel and do not look is it far or near your target...But also it's very near most of things.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

stayed here over memorial day weekend. The facility is new, beautiful and clean. But the personnel made the stay. Danny and Tony were full of great suggestions of where to eat and how to get where we wanted to go. Local transport to train, bus and plane as well as recommended dining spots. The hot breakfast was as expected, eggs, waffles etc and all the normal continental items. Everything was great, and we would stay here again for it convenience to NYC...didn't think this was going to be a great location, but I was pleasantly surprised...

Room Tip: Book early and use the AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hartwoodfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in May 2011. We used this hotel as a base to get into NYC. The shuttle drivers are fantastic. The shuttle runs essentially on demand until 11 PM at night. They take you to Penn Station, and then for $1.75 you can take the PATH train to the World Trade Center which is a 25 minute ride. The PATH trains run 24 hours a day, and if you miss the shuttle after 11, cabs are plentiful!

The room was very clean and everyone was friendly. We had a studio suite overlooking the river which was nice. We had a small fridge and microwave. My only complaint about the room was we had a 25 inch tube tv. The room looked recently remodled or built, you would expect a flat screen. Breakfast was ok. Eggs/sausage one day, and egg bakes (on a bagel) another. Waffles are always available. Dunkin Donuts, Popeyes Chicken/Buscits, are across the street, and there is a diner less than a mile down the road. There is an indoor pool and workout facility there, which we did not use. I wouldnt walk far around the hotel. The area looks a little sketchy, and the shuttle is free!

Overall this was a great experience and a great, economical solution for visiting New York City.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank rjkcpktrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The hotel was very nice once you are inside. The staff we encountered were very friendly. The surrounding area has a slight industrial feel to it because of the businesses surrounding the area and the look of the bridges over the river. Our room was directly next to the elevator and it, and the people getting on/off, could be heard in our room.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAPoole12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
Element Harrison-Newark
#1 of 2 in Harrison
383 reviews
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Ave, Harrison, NJ 07029-1318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range: $137 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing