We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good”
Review of Rat's Restaurant

Rat's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rat's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 94 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sculpture Way
Transit: Less than 3 miles from the Hamilton, NJ Amtrak/NJ Transit complex
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I really joyed the food here, and we had a perfect spot outside, the weather was absolutely perfect and the food was delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    172
    68
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Twp
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A treat for the gourmet at hear!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have been here several time and it is always a treat. We ate in the bar area and the service is always attentive. The Provencal Mezze is a fabulous starter. Lunch menu offers a variety of salads and sandwiches where are all plentiful in portion size. We sat outside and enjoyed coffee while watching the ducks in the water. Fabulous food, ambience and view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good dining in a spectacularly scenic setting”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ate here as a party of 10 for a birthday dinner. Food and service were very good.
We were seated upstairs at a circular table that was too small for the 11 people it was set for and still small for the 10 that actually showed up.
Decent selection of entrees but the lobster was smallish and a tad chewy for $ 45, significantly higher than most of the other entrees.
Non-valet parking difficult to locate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing, delicious, go!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food was amazing, the staff wonderful. We went for New Year's Day brunch which kids and adults throughly enjoyed.it was a delight, and the Grounds for Sculpture was an post lunch treat!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
349 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“New Years @ Rats!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The service and the food were all we expected! The waiter brought out our dinner as requested that enabled us to dance between courses. Everyone was very pleased with what they ordered
Rat's is good for about any special occasion with Great setting and atmosphere.

Our only complaint was that instead of the band we expected they had a robotic DJ that seemed to be engrossed in watching videos on his laptop. His music was repetitious and he did not to add to the party as in the past their bands had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unbongout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rat's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rat's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing