We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was hoping for”
Review of Abbott's Frozen Custard - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abbott's Frozen Custard
Price range: $2 - $6
Description: "The way ice cream was meant to be" - Abbott's Frozen Custard, since 1902 from Rochester, NY. Hand scooped - 10 flavors made fresh in store daily - flavors rotate daily. Fresh made waffle cones, sundaes, flurries, ice cream sodas, floats, cakes & pies, pints to go, frozen bananas turtles and wheels. Eat-in or take-out.
Restaurant details
Description: "The way ice cream was meant to be" - Abbott's Frozen Custard, since 1902 from Rochester, NY. Hand scooped - 10 flavors made fresh in store daily - flavors rotate daily. Fresh made waffle cones, sundaes, flurries, ice cream sodas, floats, cakes & pies, pints to go, frozen bananas turtles and wheels. Eat-in or take-out.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Not what I was hoping for”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A New Yorker I know had really raised my hopes for this shop and praised its ice cream to the skies, but when it finally opened, I was disappointed. They only have a few flavors available every day, and the night I went there, I was strongly advised by the workers not to order my first choice because they said it tasted like toothpaste! My second choice was tasty, but I was really shocked at the price, which would have bought at least two ice creams at any other shop. I haven't been back. I guess I will just have to wait for trips to St. Louis to get my frozen custard fix at Ted Drewes!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank develbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart A, Owner at Abbott's Frozen Custard, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We apologize that you were disappointed and served by an obviously disgruntled employee. However, I must set the record straight:

- We have 10 rotating flavors (out of 45 total flavors) of frozen custard that are made FRESH throughout every day.
- Our employees are well trained to offer a taste of any flavor for any customer to try.
- The comment with regards to our price being double other shops is simply untrue.

Our products are reasonably priced and more than competitive with other ice cream stores in our area. Noting that the reviewer is from Hamilton, we are "shocked" that the review contains such a grossly inaccurate pricing statement.

To conclude, as you say, I'm glad you enjoyed a "tasty" frozen custard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Abbotts recently opened near the AMC Movie Theater.
Unfortunately, the ice cream or the frozen custard is just so so.
The service also leaves much to be desired.
And the cost is way above what you get for the money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveNGini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing