We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapala Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chapala Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Holland, PA
1 review
“Best Mexican food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I discovered Chapala Mexican Restaurant 3 years ago after driving by many times. I've been back regularly since then. It's not your typical looking Mexican restaurant, but after searching all over for authentic Mexican food and being disappointed over and over again, I thought I'd try it. Their food is fabulous. It's delicious home style Mexican cooking. Not like I've had anywhere else. The atmosphere is fresh and clean. And the staff is friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend Chapala for anyone who's tired of chain restaurants. You'll have a great meal!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kzman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I like the food but the restaurant is skanky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I find the food very yummy but the building needs to be condemmed. Dining room ceiling looks like the rain pours through and it is very dirty looking. The bathrooms... i have seen better at train stations. The atmosphere makes you question the sanitation of the kitchen. Unfortunately the looks of the place detract from the food. We won't be back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a great Mexican BYOB restaurant. The staff is very friendly friendly and the food delicious!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Good food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Place is BYOB, so keep that in mind before you go. Good mexican food at slightly higher than normal prices for Mexican. Would definitely recommend!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High quality, authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My family and I have dined here for the past 6 years and are there for dinner almost every weekend. Why? Because in 6 years I have yet to have a bad meal. The food is fresh and flavorful and the model of consistency. There is a wide variety of dishes...anything from tacos to scallop and fish dishes. All good. Chicken soup is fantastic. Chips and salsa are quite tasty and served right away. The restaraunt is BYO. One important note--the portions are quite sizeable and the pricing reflects the portions and overall quality. For example, a taco meal includes 3 overstuffed tacos, rice and beans for about $17. Seems high but when you consider the tacos are 2-3x the size of the average Mex restaurant and waaay bigger than those nasty chain restaurants...it is a reasonable price. You can order a la carte. Therefore if you want to mix it up and stay closer to $12...order a taco and a bowl of soup. Many will be satisfied with that alone. I have eaten at great Mex restaurants across the Country and Chapala is up there on the list. Equally comfortable for a date night, friends, large parties and families. Nothing fancy inside, but plenty of space to stretch out. Owner is a nice guy and hands on.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandJaimeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapala Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing