We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Haunt”
Review of BIll's Old Tavern

BIll's Old Tavern
Ranked #28 of 95 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Quakerbridge Road
Description: Quality means more at Bill's Olde Tavern. It's fresh 100% USDA Choice or Prime ground beef formed into perfectly grilled, Handcrafted Burgers that redefine an American classic. Quality is seasonal vine ripened tomatoes and crisp leaf lettuce still glistening with garden dew. It's smoked bacon and premium cheeses and an uncompromising commitment to providing you the best. Passion is people. People who love what they do and take your enjoyment personally. Passion is what to expect from the people who take your order and the people who craft your meal. Everyone you meet here is happy you've come, and they're genuinely dedicated to having you visit with us frequently. Pride makes us a family. This is our home. You are our guest. And we will attend to your dining experience with a degree of care and attention to detail unrivaled anywhere. A deep desire to serve others is the secret weapon of a gracious host. And it's why, at Bill's Olde Tavern, we want you to always leave with a smile.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Neighborhood Haunt”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Friendly service. Consistently good food. Broad menu. Neighborhood vibe. And reasonable prices. We visit as often as possible!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tavern food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Dark and unattractive mostly fried bar food Place for young people to socialize, noisy drinking spot not an eating destination

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice old landmark building”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The food did not stand up to the surroundings here. I've been here many times over the years and it seems like there is a different chef each time. My recent visit for lunch was disappointing. Service was good and the ambiance of the old tavern remains, but the food was not worth the prices. The fish from fish and chips was good, but the "fresh hand cut fries" were not fresh. They were terrible. Our server did replace them and the new ones were good, but if you saw what they sent the first time you would be surprised they served them at all. They offer Mac 'n Cheese with a variety of additions and I chose jumbo lump crabmeat for $12.99. The macaroni was dry. The crab meat and cheese was laid on top and baked or broiled to melt the cheese. It was not creamy and cheesy with a white sauce base as one expects and it lacked seasoning. We had Apple Crisp desserts that were just ok. Cost was about $45 for simple lunch for 2 with soft drinks. Overpriced and mediocre in my opinion. The place is a prize but the food needs a boost.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality slipping”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It's difficult to write this review, as Bill's has been a staple for us for years. We used to enjoy the variety of meals offered in this historic location. However, Bill's food for the past few visits seems to be slipping.

The menu does rotate from time to time, which seems to offer a good variety depending on the time of year, and their 2 for $22 meal deal enticed us back several times. However, over the course of the past two years, we've seen a noticeable decline in quality.

The last time we dined with Bills was this past week, and this may very well be our last visit. The appetizer we chose was the Boneless Wings and instead of getting normal, chicken strips, we had tiny chicken pieces about a 1/3 of the normal size of the appetizer (we've had it before and this looked like someone picked off the plate and left us the scraps). We normally share the appetizer, but there was barely enough for one person.

The Southern Platter was poor to say the least. The smoked pulled pork tasted like it was loaded with liquid smoke and unappetizing. Instead of a "crispy chicken breast", we received breaded chicken fingers. The 'hand cut fries' were mealy and cold, the vegetables overcooked and mushy and the 'buttermilk biscuit' was hard, stale and inedible. We couldn't even tear it apart!

The chili platter came with five nachos that were stuck in the chili (so they were soggy by the time the meal came out). There was less chili than normal, and too much rice. There wasn't much cheese on the chili either.

The drinks (which we've noticed the most difference lately) taste like the soda lines on their dispenser need to be cleaned - or they're using generic sodas. There's a funky taste no matter what we have ordered.

I do hope the meals improve - and fast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VacayDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hometown Bar”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The food is good, service is excellent and prices are cheap! It's part "old cozy house with a fireplace and probably a ghost or two" and part "nightclub/bar with fabulously cheap happy hours!" We love coming here...it's big enough to hold an after-show cast party (the Kelsey Theatre is just down the road) but can be intimate enough for a nice date night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BIll's Old Tavern also viewed

 

Been to BIll's Old Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing