We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go There”
Review of Blackstone Pub & Grill - CLOSED

Blackstone Pub & Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
“Go There”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a great time.. friendly service...great drinks...delicious food. They even had a very entertaining acoustic guitar vocalist..(don't remember the name just a gray moustache and super voice ..sorry). You have to give this place a try.!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    6
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better but only Average”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped going here because the food was never good. Based on recent reviews and the fact it had new ownership, we gave it another try.
The menu has been scaled back from previous but we found it adequate. The bread served was very nice - wheat and warm.
Our server was very good - no complaints there. The bar was the only bright spot on our previous visits and that has not changed. The martinis were full size and filled to the top.
We ordered calamari for the table - pretty bad. It looked and tasted like it came out of the freezer section of the nearby food market.
Next we had steaks. The 2 NY strips were cooked perfectly medium rare and tender enough but they were bland and did not have that juicy steak taste. The filet mignon, order medium rare, came well undercooked and had to be sent back. It too, while tender enough, had no taste to it.
Overall, the improvement is promising enough to give them another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buncrana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Restaurant Nice Atmosphere Really Good Service!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Blackstone has been open for about a year and their management seems to really care about Service and Good Food and their customer's satisfaction. The menu is varied and interesting and the chef sure can cook! And, their service is impeccable... at least as far as we've experienced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Loved the new "Blackstone Pub & Grill"”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After learning Hamburg's Blackstone Pub & Grill was recently sold and under new management, my husband & I decided to give it a try. We are SO GLAD we did ! We enjoyed the food so much that we asked to meet the chef and then were even more excited to learn the Blackstone's new owner/chef had been the chef at Madison's Top Notch-an old favorite that was sorely missed!
So, needless to say, we'll return to the Blackstone--love the American/German/Italian menu--and fantastic frozen drinks too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The menu had many creative choices, including some of the items from the "Top Notch" restaurants. I selected the cashew encrusted grouper and it was perfect. If you are looking for great food at a reasonable price this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFried601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstone Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing