We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Cascades Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$136
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Motel(Warwick)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(Newton)
$85
$75
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Motel(Andover)
$70
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$119
$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,923)
Filter reviews
1,923 results
Traveler rating
856
492
322
165
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
856
492
322
165
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiosphere poolcrystal taverngrand cascadesfull kitchenone bedroom suitewasher dryersprings bistroreflections spabeautiful resortgas fireplacecrystal springsrestaurant latourhot tubspa treatmentscouples massagewine cellarromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 1,923 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went for a one night getaway and and the best time ever. The staff from the time we arrive was so courteous and the other guests were friendly. As I always do I check out the room (Studio Suite 230) when I first get there and I was totally pleased with the cleanliness and decor. The biosphere pool was absolutely beautiful and romantic but I really would suggest there be an adult swim hour or two after 9pm so there is no children around and the adults can enjoy cocktails and each others company. Overall we had a great time and will definitely be back again and I have told family and friends to visit as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Sunshine,

Thank you for visiting Grand Cascades Lodge, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your romantic getaway! Our resort is a hidden gem for some, and we are happy that you discovered us. Our staff takes pride in providing a great experience and maintaining a wonderful property, and we sincerely appreciate your compliments. We look forward to your return stay, and thank you again for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff is easily accessible, very helpful and universally friendly.
Accommodations were great and the lodge has that classic winter lodge feel to it complete with lots of fireplaces, fire-pits, and that nice lodge ambiance.
Marshmallow roast every night; something the kids thoroughly enjoyed and will always remember.
Biosphere pool tons of fun.
Free valet car service.
Range of activities is wide including outdoor archery, canoeing, golf, lawn chess, ping pong, billards, foosball table, maze, survival school, the list goes on.
Check out Mineral Springs with full court basketball and Activity Center, including tennis.
Shuttle service is fantastic. Took us to Mineral Springs, a local restaurant, top of the mountain, almost everywhere we wanted to go, and all on a moments notice. Our group of 17 enjoyed travelling together rather than in separate cars. Just ask the front desk or concierge to call the shuttle.

One area I would like to see this large-scale resort improve on is conservation. The classic 'save water, hang your towels on the hook' sign was in our bathroom, but it seems like we always had newly washed towels despite our towels being 'on the hook'. There was no recycling on the premises and the maid took a bag of recyclable bottles we had separated from the garbage. I am guessing the maid threw them out. Most concerning is that the maid systematically runs the dishwasher every visit, usually to wash literally one fork and one cup. This seems very wasteful and a lot of water and energy could be conserved by having the maids load dirty dishes into the dishwasher while the guests decide when to run the dishwasher. Even the least environmentally-minded in our group was surprised by running the dishwasher to clean a fork and a cup!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyPiePie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are so happy that we were able to be a part of your family's special gathering. We take great pride in being able to provide a venue that offers so much, so close and is absolutely packed with natural beauty. On behalf of our operational staff, I thank you for your warm compliments. We truly take pleasure in being able to help our guests feel welcomed and at home. I appreciate your comments regarding your green and not so green observations and have already shared them with our General Manager; there is some room for improvement there, for sure!

We thank you again for your kind words and look forward to your return! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family reunion for 24 was first class all the way: Exceptional food and service: Activities for all ages. Family from across the country marveled at the beauty of the resort.
Espically popular was the 18 hole putting green course.

Room Tip: Mountain views are the best. Upper floors have fuller views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting and glad to read that your stay was the perfect retreat for you and your family. Crystal Springs is a family business, and we understand how important family is. To be able to come together and relax is special, and we feel honored that we were location you chose to spend time with those closest to you. We look forward to seeing you, and you family, again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Grand Cascades Lodge is GRAND! My husband & I along with my 2 children (ages 9 & 12 ) had a great time. We can't wait to go back. The pool area is beautiful, grotto style with waterfalls, it even has a slide, there is a sauna next to the jacuzzi, the jacuzzi is big & it overlooks the pool area. At night a movie screen comes down & plays a movie ( animated ) which you can watch while in pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It was a amazing room but the 2 bedroom suites are located at the end of the hallway which is a long walk to get to from the elevator. Higher floors have the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desarae11414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Desarae11414,

Thank you for visiting our Lodge and for taking a few moments to share your feedback about your stay. We truly appreciate it! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed some of our great kid-friendly amenities and, of course, our one of a kind Biosphere pool--a highlight for any guest visiting Grand Cascades Lodge. Our staff takes great pride in being able to share in our guests' memorable getaways, and we very much appreciate your kind words. Hope we see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As beautiful as this hotel and grounds are, the poor service outweighs the views. When we booked our stay we called the hotel to make dinner reservations. We were told that there was a dress code for the Springs Restaurant. However, upon arrival we found out this was not the case at all and so began many episodes of misinformation by the hotel staff. We were told there was a "guaranteed check in time" of 4 p.m. We arrived at 4:30 and had to wait two hours for our room. Our dinner the first night at the Springs took over two hours. One appetizer arrived 15 minutes before the other 3. Our waitress disappeared numerous times throughout the meal. Every table around us was unhappy and complaining. One table next to us waited 45 minutes for their dessert. One dessert was then served with moldy berries!
We had also asked the front desk about getting chairs at the pool and were told to head down early to reserve chairs. We followed this advice and then went to our room to get changed. When we arrived 40 minutes later our stuff was gone and our seats were taken. The worker at the pool informed us that guests could not reserve seats. However, the next day I noticed numerous seats reserved for several hours at the pool. Service at the Vista Pool restaurant is awful and you will have to get up to find someone to take your order if you have any hope of eating. At both the Springs Restaurant and the Vista pool restaurant tables are left dirty and the staff just seems extremely overwhelmed. The bathroom at this pool is also horrible. There is only a single stall for the entire pool and it was filthy with no ventilatin so you can imagine the smell.
The hotel lobby as well only has a single stall bathroom and this was also not clean and had no soap for two days. There were clearly serious issues with the cleaning staff. During my family's three night stay housekeeping never cleaned our room even after numerous reminders and requests.
One positive is the Chef's Table restaurant. The setting is beautiful, the service great and the food was amazing. Also the staff at thebreakfast buffet was great but your whole party will have to agree on buffet or a la carte at this restaurant since the seating is in two different rooms.
Overall, this hotel is poorly managed and is not living up to its potential which is a shame. They seem to be striving for a high end ambience but the service does not make the grade.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for visiting Grand Cascades and for sharing your comments. There were many instances where your experience was not consistent with what we strive to provide all of our guests--namely, a relaxing and luxurious experience close to home at our beautiful resort. I apologize that there were several instances where a miscommunication from our staff or a lack of expected service had a negative impact on your stay. We wish to satisfy all of our guests, and I will contact you directly to discuss your comments further. Thank you very much for your time and patience, and I hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews