We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Cascades Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
Newark,Delaware
Level Contributor
290 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Before we went, we couldn't wait to get there, but after we got there, we couldn't wait to leave. Aside from the snooty, pompous guy who checked us in, the staff was ok. Our main focus for coming here was the Biosphere. It was about 1/2 of what we expected from how it was presented online. They only had 1 jacuzzi in the entire Biosphere and 1 hot pool that you could swim out into, but it was not very big and opened after 3 pm. The 1 water slide was nice too, but there just wasn't enough to keep you entertained for more than hour. If 25 % of the resorts capacity showed up to use the Biosphere, it would be an impossibility.

The hotel is huge and with no map or directions on how to get around; good luck on finding what your looking for. When we stayed, they had 1 working ice machine that was a 5 minute walk from our room but I walked about 15 minutes trying to find it with the help of a girl who worked there.

The many miles of crown molding that covered every linear foot of ceiling in the resort is very nice, but did not justify the $292.00 that we paid for the smallest room in the place. Especially since the wall mounted heater that was installed in the room made loud clicking noises every time it went on; enough so that it woke me up every time lending to a bad night's sleep. For the price they are charging there should have been central heating and air conditioning units for the rooms.

Room Tip: Minerals Resort and Spa hotel is a better value. It's about 2 miles down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    459
    299
    146
    81
See reviews for
750
634
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been going to hotel since inception. They try to be something they can not achieve. Overpriced rooms , food, . Staff is inexperienced. They are more concerned with selling real estate them anything else. Golf is worth it. Stay somewhere else

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Light12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montgomery,ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

When we first arrived I was impressed by the beauty and grand scale of the hotel but soon after was disappointed. When we checked into our room I had to call housekeeping 3 times. The first time it was because there was a glass of wine left in the tv cabinet. The second was because there was a bathrobe belt left under the sink. The last time was because the table in the living room had bits of chocolate smeared on it. For the price of the room I felt the hotel was dirty and it took the excitement of staying there away.
The other disappointment was that because the mountain was not open due to lack of snow there was not much else to do there. The pool was disappointing. It was crowded and wreaked of chlorine.
The restaurants were hard to get into and were not anything special. My 13 year old son was begging me to go home.
If the mounain is not open I would suggest staying at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolaMontgomery_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent our MLK weekend here with our kids. We got a one bedroom suite with kitchen. Overall, We had a great time. The place is clean. The biosphere was very nice. Something unique. It's also close to Mountain Creek and the give you a free ride going there. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingjasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and two teenage daughters, along with another family, spent a long weekend here. Our trip mission was skiing, so we didn't take much advantage of the hotel amenities, other than the pool area. The hotel was lovely - and clean, as were the rooms. Not a bad view in the place. We had suites with kitchens, so did not get to enjoy the restaurants, but it always smelled delicious when we passed by. Maybe next time. Kitchens were supplied with the very basics. Take any special tools that you need - particularly a scrubby sponge for soiled pots! The bed had a memory foam mattress, which I greatly enjoyed. Never slept on one before. There was a nice toasty fireplace in our living area and a deck with a lovely vista. Two tvs, but no wIFI in the room. In short, we enjoyed the room so much, we spent our down time there, relaxing.The staff was kind and helpful, especially the shuttle staff. Very accommodating. Shuttles run regularly to and from the ski areas during the day, and when they are not running after hours, you simply call for a private shuttle. Nice! We wished there was an area by the entrance to stow ski equipment overnight, instead of lugging wet boots and skis up to the room each night. There is a locker somewhere, but still a pain carting that stuff around. The pool area is very cool - enough said. I was planning on getting a pedicure, but $60 was too much. Call me cheap!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, NJ
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here - the staff were very accommodating and the atmosphere was relaxed. We really enjoyed our Port Wine seminar in the wine cellar, and were glad we didn't need to be anywhere afterwards!
Later, we explored the biosphere pool and steam room. We wondered if this was the slow season, as there weren't many planned activities that week, but weren't complaining because our intention was to relax, and relax we did.
We were hoping to have dinner at restaurant latour, but it closed early on Sunday & so we took the shuttle over to Kite's at the Minerals location, but they were closed as well (at 9:15pm on a Sunday, even though their kitchen was listed as open until 10pm). The staff at Kite's were less than hospitable; a big difference from Grand Cascades.
Our room was nice, although when we stepped out to our balcony in the morning we were greeted by another guest undressing in front of their window, a mere 8-10' from our balcony. awkward. Inside our room, however, was nice and private.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and are looking forward to another ladies' weekend soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a Saturday at the Grand Casades Lodge. We both had massages at Reflections Spa. We both had a great experience there. The service was great and the massage was very good. You won't be disappointed. Each locker area has a steam room and lockers. The waiting area is very relaxing as well. Our massage was part of the package.

After checking out reviews regarding the dinner options I booked a reservation at latour restaurant. The entire dining experience was teriffic. It's a very romantic setting if that what your looking for. The service again was very good. I would highly recommend the NY strip. It was done to perfection. My wife had the lobster. Your entree comes with an appetizer and dessert. Everything on the menu looked great. They have an extensive but pricey wine list.

Overall our experience was great. We both enjoyed our stay. I must say the only drawback is that the resort and restaurant are very expensive. With that being said, I'd recommend the resort and would return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamburg
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
10.6 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
622 reviews
2.3 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,382 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mountain Creek - The Appalachian & Black Creek Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cascades Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cascades Lodge

Property: Grand Cascades Lodge
Address: 3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419-1531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cascades Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grand Cascades Lodge, the NY metro area's newest and most luxurious resort hotel. Ideally situated in the scenic mountains of northwestern New Jersey and just 47 miles from Manhattan, this elegant retreat offers spacious designer guest rooms with gourmet kitchens, fireplaces and balconies. World-class amenities include a distinctive Biosphere Tropical Pool Complex, the luxurious Reflections Spa, six award-winning golf courses, an 18-hole grass putting course, 4-star Restaurant Latour, 3 indoor/outdoor heated pools, meeting and conference rooms, on-site pro shop, gift store and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Cascades Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cascades Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Grand Cascades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing