We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Tea and Scones”
Review of British Chip Shop

British Chip Shop
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Haddonfield
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Authentic British fare in the heart of historic downtown Haddonfield. Open seven days a week, Sunday brunch, BYOB. Stop by for fish and chips, traditional British favourites, healthy salads and sandwiches, and freshly baked house made desserts and pastries.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Very Good Tea and Scones”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

They have a good idea in Haddonfield with the British Chip shop. Having been to England a few times, we wanted to see if they got it right. We have been here on many occasions now. It's very nice to sit and get warm with a nice pot of tea and excellent scones with clotted cream and jam. We can't comment on any other food since we get this each time. The decor is nice and they always have British music and soccer on the tele. There only a few nits that keep us from giving a 5.The tabletop we were sitting at this last visit was totally unstable and my hot tea almost landed in my lap as the top swung in my direction abruptly when I put my elbow on the table. Also with this visit, we noticed that the floors have been covered with carpet. They were bare floors for all our other visits and they were always ridiculously sticky! Now with the carpets down, though they are no longer sticky, it hasn't made them clean up any better. There were four open tables by the fireplace when we were seated, and there were a huge amount of crumbs and a big piece of fish under every one of the tables. They do not clean the floor when they clear their tables. There was no crowd here so you can't say they were busy. It's always like this. If you can overlook this, you'll enjoy the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    30
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia Suburb
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go for the fish & chips”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you're in the mood for a casual meal, go to the British Chip Shop. The fish and chips are quite good with a splash of malt vinegar. Their hot tea is great. For sides/appetizers I've tried the red beets, which were good and also the blue cheese stuffed dates wrapped in bacon which are both good to share. The service isn't anything to write home about, nor is the atmosphere but it's ok for casual dining. I'd go again. It's BYO.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fish and chips very good!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had the fish and chips which were awesome. Next day had the beef stew. Food but not great. My chef husband added spices and veg to it, to give it a kick. Would not order again.. But the fish and chips are the best around! The decor is very cool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashd0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The real thing!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Popped in during a raging thunderstorm at the Arts and Crafts Festival, and what a lucky find! The food was delicious, and very authentic. We had sandwiches, hot entrees, "chips" and dessert and everything was perfect The service was great. Our waitress patiently waited as we agonized over what dessert to eat there, and what to take home. If you like the teapots, you can go across the street to their gift shop and pick one up for yourself.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBLanghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So rude!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've given this place too many chances. We admit, we love the scones and tea, that's it. The rest of the food is terrible, and the service is always poor. We've dined here a dozen times plus, now we're giving up regardless of how good the scones are. The servers are all aloof and slow, they never check on you. If you ask for anything, even a glass of water, they are annoyed. I tried voicing my opinion about them to the owner once in passing in their gift store across the street. The owner was quick to defend them and seemed just as rude and aloof. I can see why they are like this. Great concept, just a shame they are poorly managed. Also, place is dirty!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Chip Shop also viewed

 
Haddonfield, NJ
 

Been to British Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing