We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem”

Churrascarria Paladar
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Hackettstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Morris County, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Delicious, authentic Portuguese BBQ at reasonable prices. We got the take-out combo of chicken and ribs. Plenty of food for two with some sides to spare. Will definitely return to try the rodizio. Beautifully decorated, but very small inside.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tracylesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    16
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Eats”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

everything that i have tried is really really good! would recommend making reservations if you plan on visiting. they have tables but also a dry bar to sit and eat. the rodizio is amazing, and you get a little bit of everything.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thayrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Don't let the "banner" sign and the curtains scare you off, the inside is nicely done over, surprising you when you sit down. The table setting and service is top notch. We did the Rodizio, where thy keep bringing you more, and different meat cuts until you beg them to stop. The sides are very good as well, rices, beans, greens, yucca, fried banana, polenta, etc. the meat cuts were a rib eye cut, chicken wrapped in bacon, pork wiry a Parmesan crust, chicken sausage, beef short ribs, a signature beef cut, done several different ways, smoked chicken leg..........there might have been another! We had no room for dessert. Oh, BTW, did I mention this place is a BYOB? I hope this place stays around as the town could use another BYOB after losing Cara Mia a few years ago.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

You would never know from the outside that you are about to walk into such a great restaurant. The white curtain hanging in the front window helps to block the not-so-great view of Main Street and gives the inside a more cozy feel. We had no prior knowledge of this restaurant but thought we would give the new local place a try. SO glad that we did and we will definitely be returning soon. From the white tablecloths, the soft cloth napkins, the spotless glasses and silverware, the impeccable friendly service to the delicious food and real value, I cannot say enough to sing the praises of this restaurant. It is very small inside, only about 6 tables and a bar so calling ahead is definitely suggested. The men serving the food (one said he was a part owner) are so eager to make their customers happy. They want you to return, so they aim to please. Our table of 4 shared 2 mixed skewers which was a lot of food. Not only do you get a large amount of meat (beef, chicken legs, sausage, pork) but you are served fried yucca, black beans, collard greens, fried bananas (AMAZING!!) rice and french fries which are actually like homemade potato chips.

This restaurant also does rodizio which is when endless amounts of meat are brought to your table and served from a long skewer. Other tables in the restaurant were enjoying this option, but by the end many of them were groaning with how full they felt. We finished our meal with a piece of tres leches cake. Not house made, but still good.

This place is great! I fear though that once the word gets out it may be very hard to get a table since it is so small. Give it a try, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyBitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrascarria Paladar also viewed

 

Been to Churrascarria Paladar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing