We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Szechuan Royale

Szechuan Royale
Ranked #29 of 84 Restaurants in Hackettstown
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hackettstown
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese lunch buffet in area. Sure, it's not as big as some other china buffets, but the food is fresh and hot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisT0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food was ok. We got there prior to the lunch buffet. It was typical americanized chinese fare. Hot and Sour soup was really good. Generat Tso Chicken was a little undercooked. (the batter wasn't fully cooked)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reuben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent local Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a relatively small, local Chinese restaurant located in Hastings Square, Schooley's Mountain Road, Hackettstown, NJ. We had a choice of being seated at a table or a booth and were seated immediately at 5PM on a Saturday evening. The menu offers a wide variety of soups, appetizers and entrees, including family dinners and a lunch menu as well. We enjoyed the hot and sour soup, which was not too spicy and delicious and a regular order of spare ribs (offered on the bone or boneless - we had the former) which were 6 large very meaty ribs with just the right amount of sauce and the best I have had in many years! For our entrée we chose the "happy family" which consisted of beef, pork, shrimp and chicken in a brown sauce with a variety of veggies, served with white rice. The portion size was enough for two of us and we even had some leftover to take home. Again delicious. Our water glasses were always kept full, and we had hot tea on our table as well. At the end of our meal we were served a dish with pineapple chunks, orange wedges and fortune cookies. Our bill was accurate and promptly presented and serviced. Cordial waitress. Overall excellent! We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qualityman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Hackettstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food is excellent, price is right, and the atmosphere is not too bad. Your typical chinese menu.

They do a lunch buffet tuesday-friday. Each day they have lo mein, fried rice, gen. tso, and chicken with broccoli. Then they rotate a few different dishes such as chinese chicken wings, some sort of baby shrimp dish with vegetables. You also get your choice of soup before your meal. All this for around $8-9 after tip.

Their dinner portions are huge and are definitely enough for lunch leftovers the next day. Service is fast and friendly. If you are in H-town and craving chinese, this is definitely the place you should go to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Always a friendly staff and fast service. The food is delicious and better than any of the other chinese styled restaurants in the area. The amount of food given is always generous and, of course, delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbabs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Royale also viewed

 
Hackettstown, NJ
 

Been to Szechuan Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing