We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waaaait for it......”

McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Hackensack
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 4
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waaaait for it......”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a chain restaurant, quality customer service, food, and drinks are usually key attributes in the consistency category.

I decided to take my wife here to celebrate her birthday while enjoying fine dining. When we arrived, they had no clue I made reservations days prior and verified 2 hour before our arrival. When seated, my wife and I weren't able to experience any due to the lack of service provided after being seated. We entertained ourselves for 35 minutes and watched 2 families and 3 sets of couples arrived and serviced.

When we gathered ourselves and headed for the door, the hostess smiled and said "have a great night".

Since our existence didn't matter, we politely went next door to Houston's to enjoy the alternative and had a well deserved experience.

Needless to say, I don't plan to visit this location again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeezyPlzBlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bergen county new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Privacy Seating~ We love the sitting booths with curtains for added privacy!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I visit McCormick & Schmick's several times a year. They have the freshest seafood and are very professional. They also offer you a discount card that you purchase for $25.00. Everytime you go to the restaurant you earn money towards a meal and you get a nice discount for birthday. The last time we went we received $75.00 credit towards our dinner. That was such a nice surprise! We hadn't been there in awhile so we were really surprised.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2vacationtorelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“For the price, it should have been much better”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was an occasion so we went expecting a fine dining experience and were willing to pay for it. Pay for it we did, over $50/person and it could have been matched by Outback or Applebees.

The interior is very elegant with wood paneling and fine prints on the wall, very club like. We were seated and present our menus by well dressed serving staff.

The menu is a large piece of paper printed on both sides. A limited menu but not necessary a problem. The appetizers were very uninspiring so we passed on them.

Asking about what came with the dinner, we decided to try the salads. The Walnut Mixed Green was well appreciated by my wife. It had a tart balsamic dressing on varied greens with a good helping of baby spinach. In the salad were crispy sugar coated walnuts and crumbled blue cheese. The blue cheese is almost tasteless and for people who do not want the sharpness of real blue cheese. The other salad was a Ceasar salad again rather tart and not highlighting the parmesan. The croutons as well were greasy and not appealing.

One of the highlights of the meal was the outstanding sour dough bread. It was reminiscent of San Francisco. Crisp crust and nice sour taste. It was diminished by the whipped room temperature butter that it was served with,, definitely and insult to the bread.

The main course was Sirloin steak ordered medium and the weekend special which was a lobster tail and a 5 oz filet order rare. We asked in advance what it was served with. The steak can with a tomato and 2 spears of asparagus, the special had nothing with it. I guess that why the side dishes are so promenent. To me, an outrage not to serve a veg or starch with an entree that costs $22+ each. So we ordered the Red Pepper White cheddar Mash.

Since there were only five or so tables occupied in this large restaurant, it was a surprise that the food did not arrive hot. Steak, asparagus, tomato, and Mash were not hot as well as the filet and tail. The steak was cooked to Medium was full of flavor and chewy. The asparagus could have used 2 or more minutes on the grill to complete cooking. The filet was not rare but blue, as if it was seared rather than cooked. Fortunately, I like raw meat and this did not disappoint. The lobster tail was chewy, lacking in juice and salty. The sauce on the side for steak was not au jus, or a specialty of the chef but A1 sauce. The potatoes were cold and looked like a yellow lump in the bowl with no serving spoon.

Did I mention the bread. It was great. We bailed out and skip the dessert.

As we were receiving our check, we were treated to an offer to join the Landry frequent diners club. We respectfully declined.

For over $100. for two, we decided to try a real steak house the next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level Contributor
1,057 reviews
748 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“OK Happy Hour”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had not been here for over a year,but stopped in with a business friend for a quick drink at happy hour last week,nothing new.Very crowded in tight space,very hard parking,nothing special.The dinner menu is a bit pricey,rather go to bonefish grill for same type of options.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy hour that is good for the budget”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Between 3:30-6:30 on monday thru friday, there are many items on the bar menu that are reasonably priced. The pizza with smoked duck topping is good at $5.95. There was also brushetta and oysters at a $1 a piece- "buck a schuck". The martinis are great at $7. Not a place to go if you're very hungry, but good for a light snack and early get together if you don't mind sitting in the bar area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Hackensack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing