We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimally acceptable for road warriors”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester City
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Basically it wasn't a bad room. It had a newly renovated bathroom. The furniture, walls and fixtures were in decent shape. The bed was bigger than I expected, and reasonably comfortable. The restaurant was Indian. I wish I had not already eaten when I got there because it smelled good, (curry) and I would like to have tried something different than the usual fare.

The bad news is that the carpet was FILTHY!!! Grease, dirt and who knows what covered it. I spread the extra towels around the room so I wouldn't have to walk on it. The shower curtain was moldy. Not terribly so, but enough that I didn't want to touch it. The area wasn't the best. I didn't have any problems, and did not feel unsafe doing some local shopping. But I didn't waste time site seeing. In conclusion it's OK if you are just looking for a place to sleep, and I would stay there again if it was the only place around. But I wouldn't bring my family.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2007

I was also put up here courtesy of US Airways after they cancelled my flight. I could not believe they would put one of their customers up in a place like this, particularly after watching their employees get into shuttles headed for the Hilton and Marriott. To start, it's over 10 miles away from the airport and requires a phone call and 20 minute wait for their shuttle. As others have mentioned, the place is generally dark and dingy with rock hard beds and smelly hallways. I arrived late at night, so there wasn't much time to utilize the facilities. I only needed some water and an alarm clock. My clock didn't work and neither did either of the bottled water dispensinig machines in the complex. Enough said.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Mike505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We were put up in this place by our airline when our flight was cancelled. Shame on US Airways, this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, and I work in the hotel industry. The sheets were dirty, large cracks and stains on the walls, dangerous exposed wiring on the provided hair dryer, cable (all 8 channels) was fuzzy until my husband played with the wire, worst of all was the awful smell in the room(years of smoke and something else). The AC hadn't been cleaned in years so that was no help. Couldn't leave the window open at night since anyone could watch or break in with the common outdoor hallways. The front desk staff (there were two people running the whole facility) was rude and unhelpful when asked for a different room and clean sheets. We were given one clean sheet and told that was the last one! Yikes! We walked half a mile up the local highway to buy some air freshner, the city was dodgey at best. Stay away if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MN414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Don't stay here unless you have no other choice. Ants in the bathroom, black cault around the bathtub, trash on the sidewalks, and empty beer bottles on the patio tables. We were here for 3 unpleasant nights - sightseeing in the Philadelphia area, we did not take time to require Expedia to change our reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chemman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This is known as a true flea bag hotel. I'm surprised the Health Dept. hasn't shut this place down! Sheets had small black bugs, blanket had stains and carpet filthy and had huge stains all over it. Kept shoes on and flip flops on in shower. The neighborhood was scary, no restaurants. Construction workers staying there drinking and hanging around pool drunk and then fighting - police called twice. Indian curry smell from restaurant in rooms. Yuck.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThomasUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I don't know where to start. If I could give this hotel Negative Stars I would. I made my reservation through the 800 number for choice hotels. When I arrived at the hotel my reservation was missing. After dealing with an Extremely Rude desk clerk I finally got the two rooms I requested. (Wish I had just left and went somewhere else.) The room I stayed in was rancid. The carpet had huge stains in it. (Wouldn’t want to see what they looked like under a black light). We had four lamps and one count them one light bulb. The coffee pot had not been cleaned in who knows how long. We found an ATM receipt dated in 2006 on top of the TV. The fire alarm did not have any batteries even though we were in a smoking room. We had no iron or hair dryer. The second of the two rooms did not have a security latch or a fire alarm. Contemplated contacting the fire marshal in the town but figured since it was not in a good area nothing would be done. Both of the toilets clogged and overflowed. Other guest in the hotel also complained of the same problems. When we arrived the swimming pool was brown. Why we stayed for four days I don't know but the pool was still brown when we left. I was told when I made my reservation in March that the pool would be open during my stay in May. I really don't think anyone should swim in their pool even if it appears clean.

None of the staff spoke very good English and when I asked for help regarding my bill I was told I by the desk clerk that I would have to wait until he finished his dinner. We also noticed that the family that owned the hotel lived in most of the rooms on the first floor. It was very scary.

Please I beg you DO NOT stay here. There are other hotels in better areas just the same mileage away to Philadelphia for the same price. I switched to a Sleep Inn in King of Prussia (paid the same price as the Quality Inn) and it was an awesome experience. Clean rooms, very very helpful staff, in a great area of town right next to the mall. Same overall company but the stay was like the difference between night and day.

4  Thank raven3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

I read a couple reviews on Orbitz that seemed OK. I'm betting they were written by the mangers.

The place is awful. Located in a run down, scary part of town, they advertised wireless internet which did not work even after they moved me three times to new rooms that were supposed to be better.

The carpets are filthy, and at least 20 years old. The smell in each of the three rooms was of a very strong antiseptic mixed with some sort of perfume, you could literally taste it when you breathed. And each of the rooms was equally bad, equally smelly, and equally devoid of the promised internet.

One of the rooms I was sent to at midnight was 146. The sign on the building says the lowest number is 147.

The grounds around the pool were unkempt and covered with trash and cigarette butts.

The desk clerk was sympathetic but clueless. Quality Inn needs to revoke this franchise. If this is up to their standards, they have severe quality control problems.

I have been to worse motels but NEVER at a known franchise.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester City
6.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport
6.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Airport
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Runnemede Philadelphia Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bellmawr/Philadelphia Area
5.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Center City
Rodeway Inn Center City
#56 of 88 in Philadelphia
567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1200 Crescent Blvd, Gloucester City, NJ 08030-1675 (Formerly Quality Inn Gloucester City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Gloucester City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester City
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 295 and Route 130. This Gloucester City, NJ hotel is just minutes away from historic downtown Philadelphia. Guests of the Quality Inn hotel will enjoy many amenities, including a free hot deluxe continental breakfast, free local calls and Wireless Wi-Fi. The courtyard with a seasonal outdoor pool is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Business travelers will appreciate the peaceful setting as an escape from the hectic pace of the workday. The hotel offers access to copy and fax services. The beautiful meeting facilities at this Gloucester City, NJ hotel can accommodate up to 100 people for family reunions and business retreats. All guest rooms include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, refrigerators and microwaves. Spacious work areas are available in some rooms. Non-smoking rooms are also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gloucester City Hotel Gloucester City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing