We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RoCCA - Glen Rock

RoCCA - Glen Rock
Reserve with OpenTable
RoCCA - Glen Rock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Glen Rock
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glen Avenue
Transit: The Bergen and Main Lines, on the New Jersey Transit, are within 2 blocks of the restaurant.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I found out about Rocca in one of the NJ magazines.. wo we tried it in September. Since then, I have ben back three times. Once for my daughter's birthday and another with friends. Once time we booked our next visit and saved 10%. The staff is very friendly. The waitress remembered my teens when we went with friends and she sent us home with cookies for them. The service is very friendly. If you do not bring wine, they can send out for a bottle. The food is wonderful! I had the scallops twice. Both times different and equally wonderful.mMy husband still talks about the lamb. We will return. Rocca is charming, friendly and delicious!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelWfam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
289 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was literally a last-minute decision to go out for a late meal so we didn't know what to expect. The food was really good and the service was at a nice relaxed pace. One of Rocca's best dishes is the scallops and we both had our minds set on it. But when we ordered we were told they were sold out. Our replacement entrees were absolutely wonderful, but the hostess was aware we wanted the scallops. She told us she didn't want to see us disappointed so she gave us dessert on the house. If that's not customer service, what is? This was our first time at Rocca but definitely not our last. Next time we'll call ahead for the scallops!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality Food & Ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I felt like having one of our "Experimental Nights" after seeing a review of Rocca in NJ Monthly. It was a Saturday evening and we were seated promptly at 6:30pm as per our reservation. The restaurant is simply decorated and the service is warm and precise.
The menu is innovative with the use of fresh ingredients from local farms. There is the traditional Italian cuisine along with creative twist that makes the food at Rocca diverse and truly delicious. The menu does vary according to what is freshly available since they are part of the "farm to table" movement.
They started with a homemade rosemary focaccia bread that could stand alone-no need for olive oil. The amuse-bouche was 2 mini gnudi in a truffle cream- oh if we could only have had 3 dozen to go.
Picking our appetizers was difficult since the homemade pastas are available as full or half portions. We chose:
Oak Grove Pumpkin Ravioli-Toasted almonds, brown butter, sage,apple cider reduction.
Ricotta Gnocchi -Caramelized Trauger Farm sweet potatoes, spinach, bacon, parmesan. Both were outstanding!
Our entrees:
Sea Scallops -Flaim Farm horseradish potato puree, Terhune Orchard purple carrot fondue, grilled Blue Moon Acres white scallions.
Monkfish- Phillips Farm parsnip puree, porcini mushrooms, roasted pear chutney. Both entrees and their accompaniments were excellent.
Dessert- we shared the Warm Apple Crisp with cinnamon ice cream. This was fresh and worth the calories.
Needless to say we were extremely pleased with our first visit and plan on adding Rocca to our short list of favorites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Idania60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a really good place; the tables are not right on top of each other, the service is formal, but never overbearing. They change the menu every week, so --while the menu itself is short-- there is always something new. Soups are made on premises and are always superb. We have been there quite a few times and haven't had a bad experience. Seafood is fresh, the chicken tender, the vegetables crisp.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank castoff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Rock”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good food, homemade pastas, some what limited menu. Better than average and a place we return to occasionally .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RoCCA - Glen Rock also viewed

 
Ridgewood, NJ
 

Been to RoCCA - Glen Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing