We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice expansion”
Review of The ChopHouse

The ChopHouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The ChopHouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Gibbsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clementon Road
Description: The Chophouse is a beautiful mission style lakefront restaurant in Gibbsboro, NJ, offering the finest in traditional steakhouse cuisine. We specialize in Dry-Aged Steaks done on premise. The Chophouse is the proud recipient of many awards including "Best of Citysearch Steakhouse", "Best of Philly- Steakhouse", "Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence" and many more. Regardless of your culinary preference – steaks, chops or seafood – we invite you to enjoy a relaxing drink, savor our award winning dinner menu, entertain a gathering of friends and celebrate life in style.
Gibbsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice expansion”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

They have have expanded the deck bar area and have a cozy fireplace. The ChopHouse is a great alternative to going into Philadelphia, Center City. The steaks are to die for and the service is excellent. My only beef is the price of the drinks. Too expensive and small amounts. If they price the drinks appropriately there would be no downside. May be the best restaurant in South Jersey.

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,823 reviews
669 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,230 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great desserts, poor coffee.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great time at Chophouse is facilitated by what seems to be a nice atmosphere, attentive staff and definitely good food. They obviously specialize in steaks but their lobster is delicious too. Kona crusted steak can be recommended. Salads are good, appetizers are good, main courses very good. There is a new section open now with a pit fire place in the middle of the room adding to the atmosphere. There are parts of the restaurant with the scenic lake view. Their cappuccino hardly tasted like coffee - a bit of surprise and disappointment. Overall it is a very nice place and appears to continue to work on quality issues.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
212 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Why So Much?”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

So Capital Grille and Morton's has arrived in Gibbsboro? This is my second visit--the first one (after it first opened)--so-so at best ---this time--impressive! yes, difficult for me to say, but Everyone was friendly--from the hostess--to waitstaff--to the manager--to the valet--(had a bad experience with a PJ's issue before and wasn't even looking forward to this visit--held on to the gift card for over a year)--but was pleasantly surprised--we were seated on an enclosed veranda with heat lamps over us--my whole right side was still freezing--i wore a wrap over that side-- but the atmosphere was nice---a fire pit with people sipping drinks and tables filled of steak consuming patrons--from the flashes of fur and jewelry--it was a bit pretentious--which I'm sure they didn't mind--the lobster and crab mac n' cheese is much better elsewhere-save your $14.95 the food otherwise very nice and we had a nice evening--they even comped us one dessert b/c it was my husband's b-day--with one drink each--one app (soup, salad)--one entree each and one side each --plus tip set us back $186.00

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishhadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An interesting evening”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice restaurant. We were seated in an interesting spot, which was more bar scene then restaruant. It had some +'s and some -"s. We had an up close and personal view of the small band that was playing jazz which we enjoyed even though it was a bit loud to talk when they were playing but our table faced the door sort of so it was a bit chilly throughout the evening. We really could not see the restaurant at all. We would go back. The food was decent and the restaurant tried hard not to look and feel like a chain which is so totally the mainstream in NJ unfortunately. I think summer would be even better for ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wehave eaten here a number of times and never had a bad meal.Steak is excellent as are the sides.Atmosphere is very nice.The noise level near the bar area can be overwhelming but they have a quieter area downstairs.All and all, this compares favorably with the Capital Grille and other upscale steakhouses.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billon1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The ChopHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing