We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway to recharge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away prior to going to our son's on Sunday. The stay was great. Slept great in the most comfortable bed I have found in a B&B. Next time we are staying in the kase cottage.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travelingjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We enjoyed having you as our guests and appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and know that you will love the Kase Cottage next time you visit with us. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

The previous three or four months had been pretty stressful for my wife and me. So, we were looking for a B & B in a nice area, not far from Philadelphia (our home) to relax and reconnect with each other. After browsing B & Bs in the New Hope, PA area I chose (with wifely input) the Widow McCrea House. Frenchtown which is so less hectic than neighboring Lambertville was the perfect setting for our "recover," and when we arrived at the Widow McCrae House just outside the center of town, we were delighted. Listen, I'm a guy and words like "charming" and "cute" are words I like to use sparingly, but I found that they kept flowing from my mouth as we walked through the house to our room, 'cause the place and the room we were in (with the jacuzzi) were just that. Now, we were there last weekend (April 13 & 14), so with the window open the temperature outside made for really great sleeping. I'm, not so sure how that would be in August, since I saw no A/C unit in the room. And, yes, no bubble bath in the jacuzzi (really, bubble bath, you need that?) The gas fireplace (which we used) also added to the charm (there's that word again) of the room and a fun experience for us. So, you get it? We had a wonderful time there. It met all our expectations and helped us with some needed R & R. Now, if that were all there were, we would probably return. But, the helpfulness of our hosts, particularly in choosing excellent restaurants and in getting not only reservations, but also choice seating, and in helping us with some other logistical stuff, really has us determined to return. Oh, yes, and then there are the breakfasts! The website (or was it one of the B & B association sites) mentions really great breakfasts. And, they are, but not your ordinary breakfasts!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We enjoyed having you as our guests and appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Although I live only an hour from Frenchtown, I enjoy the area for its scenic beauty and great restaurants, so I decided to surprise my husband with a weekend getaway in the Kase Cottage at the Widow McCrea House.

We were blessed with perfect spring weather to start with, but the fireplace in the cottage gave us an excuse to get cozy when the evenings turned brisk. The cottage is well appointed with many thoughtful touches and the jacuzzi was so relaxing! We enjoyed the private patio garden in the back and even had our breakfast there on Sunday morning. Breakfast arrives in a carefully packed basket delivered with a cheery Good Morning right to our door! Speaking of breakfasts, they were delicious and generous. We appreciated that Lynn asked about food allergies before hand as my husband is lactose intolerant. Another nice thing is that you can leave your car and walk into town or stroll the tow path by the river. Next time, I am going to be sure to bring our bikes with us. The tow path is perfect for an afternoon bike ride.

My husband and I travel extensively and one thing I noticed immediately was how clean the room was. The B & B cleaning committee gets and A+ in my book. We were offered the option of daily housekeeping, but since the room was stocked with extra towels, coffee etc. We really didn't need it, so opted out. With 2 kids and 2 dogs, we really just wanted some alone time. We couldn't have picked a better place for our getaway. Private and upscale, yet close to everything. We can't wait to return. It just goes to show you don't have to go far away for the perfect getaway!

Room Tip: All rooms in this wonderful B & B are great, it all depends on your needs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyblondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We enjoyed having you as our guests and appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Best and most relaxing weekend getaway in a long time. More than ample and yummy breakfasts, if you can finish them! The room was particularly unexpected. Very private and comfortable with its own fire place kitchenette and ample bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zctrekker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying in the Kase Cottage at the Widow McCrea House. We are pleased that you found the Cottage so welcoming and comfortable. We enjoyed having you as our guests and appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent a delightful week at the Widow,when last in town for a special event.

Seeing friends and family was terrific, but returning to my luxurious suite and relaxing in clean and beautiful surroundings, soaking in my Jacuzzi with a glass of complimentary (and very good) wine was the topper.Or so I thought...until breakfast! Chef Lynn was amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candyo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Widow McCrea house on Friday & Saturday this weekend and had a wonderful visit. The proprietors, Burt & Lynn are very personable and operate a top shelf bed & breakfast. We stayed in the Privacy Suite and took advantage of the jacuzzi both nights of our stay. We had breakfast with two other couples on our first morning and enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room on the second morning. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. We dined at the Frenchtown Inn on our first evening and the Milford Oyster House on our second evening. Highly recommend for a very nice getaway within easy driving distance from NYCor Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Widow McCrea for our first anniversary. It was also our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Anne James Suite.
The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the fireplace and the romantic jacuzzi tub. We were disappointed that we couldn't use any bubbles, oils, or soaps in the tub, but we enjoyed it despite this.
The room was very clean, and it was very quiet. The keyless entry allowed us to come and go as we pleased.
The breakfast was generous and delicious. It was interesting eating breakfast with strangers, but we enjoyed the new experience. We appreciated being asked if we had any allergies or dietary restrictions, but we were not asked if we had any preferences.
The owners were very knowledgeable about the area. They gave us recommendations and directions for places to go. They were friendly and respectful.
The shower head in our shower was terrible. The water pressure was not great, and it sprayed water everywhere. The shower was also very small.
I would NOT recommend going to the Alba Vineyard. We were so excited about their advertised ten dollar wine tasting and appetizers, but you receive a small paper plate with a few tiny pieces of cheese, a plastic ramekin of a few nuts and dried cranberries, and a few grapes. It was tiny, and it was pre-packaged with saran wrap. Disappointing.
I would also not recommend the Milford Oyster House. The food is very good, and the owners are very nice, but it is overpriced and the portions are small.
We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Frenchtown Inn. Also pricey, but the portions are larger and it is worth it!
Overall, we had a nice stay in Frenchtown. The Widow McCrea is lovely, but we found that it was slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenGoesPlaces108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Widow McCrea House. We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review about your most recent stay. We are pleased that you found your accommodations comfortable and your weekend relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Frenchtown and The Widow McCrea House. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
246 reviews
12.4 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
121 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
567 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range: $125 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing