We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy scuttled our plans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy scuttled our plans”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are whitewater boaters who were looking forward to a very nice weekend away paddling the Tohickon, which has a special fall release. It was not an insignificant trip for us; we are 7 hours away in Massachusetts. We booked a room here, and were very much looking forward to staying at The Widow McCrea. Hurricane Sandy came through, and the whitewater release was cancelled on October 31 due to dangerous river conditions. Granted, we knew about the Widow McCrea's cancellation policy that we agreed to at the time of our reservation, but this natural disaster was not due to any shortsighted planning on our part. Our friends were advised by the local police not to even attempt to come to the area. We asked if the Widow McCrea would consider a voucher in the amount of the forfeiture, but to no avail. Their response was, do you want to pay with a credit card or with a check? They have our money this time, but will not have any future business with us or with any of our friends who love to paddle the Tohickon release and bring their business to the area. In the face of this natural disaster, a compromise to the cancellation policy might have been in order, and a voucher in the amount of the forfeiture towards a future visit would have been a win-win situation. After all, we were offering to pay for this voucher, we were not asking them to take a financial hit. Instead of garnering future business from us, we are disappointed, do not feel like valued guests, and cannot in good conscience recommend the Widow McCrea B&B to anyone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burt P, Owner at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Normally our policy is not to respond to reviews on Trip Advisor as we believe everyone has the right to review a property that they have stayed at, however we take exception to individuals using a disaster as an excuse when that was not the case. We worked with other guests who were truly impacted by the storm. These customers where rescheduled for another time and in some cases we let them cancel with out any loss of deposit. Regarding the couples from the Massachusetts area who decided to cancel their stay with us, we explained & assured them that most of the Hunterdon & Bucks county areas were not impacted by the storm and that merchants were open for business. The only impact that occurred for these specific guests was that their planed paddle trip was cancelled & they chose to cancel their stay with us at the last minute because of the termination of their event . While we regret that their river outing on the Tohickon was cancelled, we find it appalling that some people will take the hardships of others and try to use them to their advantage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

So, I have a list of issues with is place, but I'm going to summarize. First, we stayed in the "privacy" suite, the price when we got there for the room was $10 more per night then what was advertised on the website. No big deal. This room has a jacuzzi, great to relax, but you can only use the in room jacuzzi from 9am to 11pm!! What BS!! So if you stay here don't plan on a romantic dinner and evening out followed by a soak in the jacuzzi. We would never have booked the room if this was said when we booked it.( the shower was really small too, with a really crappy showerhead, they have hard water and seem not to know water softening heads are in the plumbing aisle at home depot, like taking a shower with sand) Then we say we'll make the best of it, and look forward to the advertised amazing breakfast. ...I've had better food during a hospital stay. It was store bought mix, no hot food, barely edible, consentrate oj, with dannon yogurt, and some kind of boxed bread pudding, with fruit cut the evening before. Horrible! The area is beautiful, we've stayed here before, but never at this place again! The bed was hard, the room tv was smaller the my work desktop monitor, and the room fridge made noise all night long. If you want a relaxing weekend stay away from this place. We go to a lot of b&b's, these people need a lesson on how to run one. Oh....if you do stay, check the guess book in the room, all of the bad review have obviously been ripped out. The book was missing more then half the pages.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widow McCrea H, Manager at The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Flv79,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our B & B. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of our B & B and our team for your stay.
The suites in the main inn with Jacuzzis operate from 9 am to 11 pm. After 11 pm, the jets are turned off as to not disturb other guests who are sleeping. These hours are posted on our website and reservation pages. You may be interested to learn that our Kase Cottage is a separate building and would have been a perfect choice as the Jacuzzi there is usable at any hour.
Since your stay, we have upgraded the guest refrigerator and replaced the shower head. All our rooms feature downy soft feather beds to assure a comfortable nights sleep.
The Widow McCrea House prides ourselves in the quality of our home made breakfasts & offers our guests only the freshest, locally sourced foods. All cooking & baking is done on the premises.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope the remainder of your trip to Frenchtown and the surrounding area was enjoyable.
Please feel free to contact myself directly at the Widow McCrea House so I can personally take care of you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary in Frenchtown and stayed at The Widow McCrea House and had a delightful experience. Our room was spacious with plenty of storage in the closet and antique dresser. It was a mild night so we didn't need the fireplace but I liked having it available. The bathroom was surprisingly large and comfortable with a large spa tub. The room, Anne-James suite was very clean and romantic. Lynn, the owner gave us a tour of the privacy suite. It was nicely decorated, warm and cozy with a large private patio - perfect for a weekend get-away. We had a delicious leisurely breakfast - homemade lemon poppyseed muffins, fresh squeezed orange juice and a delicious Italian fritatta. Lynn sat and talked with us over coffee and made us feel like family.

Room Tip: The Anne-James suite is the largest of the bedrooms, the other bedrooms are roomy but just a bit sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend at the Widow McCrea and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the privacy suite -- very clean, felt very homey, loved the large bathroom and jacuzzi tub. Also liked that it had its own entrance. Bed was super comfy and the inn keepers, Lynn and Burt were very friendly and helpful when it came to recommending area activities and dining options. Breakfast was delivered each morning in a basket to the door, yogurt, fruit, orange juice, and a home made dish. I was not a huge fan of the main breakfast dishes, I'm not sure what the first one was but the second was a banana bread pudding of some kind which was too sweet for my taste. However, it did not take away from the experience at all and was not a major inconvenience. during our stay we also visited the nearby Alba vinerard for a wine tasting which was wonderful. I would definitely go back to the Widow McCrea!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meb474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was my first experience at a B&B with my Husband. We celebrated out Wedding Anniversary at the Widow Mcrea House and were so very pleased.
The decor is so romantic and the antiques are simply gorgeous! I loved all the period pieces. Our room was spacious, we stayed in the Anne-James Suite. It was gorgeous! So Romantic and so CLEAN!!!!! My hubby and I loved the awesome hot tub!!!! We slept peacefully and loved opening the windows at night listening to the peaceful sounds of the water fountain in the back.
Breakfast was amazing as well!!!!! It was at the perfect time 9am. We loved the fact that we could sleep in and relax!!! All we do is work and this was so perfectly stress free!!!! The food was so amazing. A three course breakfast, served to the taste and to the eye. Everything looked beautiful and tasted exquisite!
The owners were so nice and so helpful as well. They had great recommendations as to what kind of activities were in the area. We had a great time.
If you want to relax from your fast pace world and work, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The house, the accomadations, the food and the decor were extraordinary... but that wasn't even the best part.
My favorite part of any Bed and Breakfast experience is meeting the owners and the other guests. Burt and Lynn blew away my expectations. Burt greeted us in the dining room each morning and, while serving us a delicious and artful gourmet breakfastk, talked to us about the history of the area, the house, current events, and entertainment opportunities in the area. He was very charming and worldly. Lynn cooked THE best muffins and gave us a tour of the other rooms in the house. She was a great source of information about local flee markets and the like.

We can't wait to go back! Thank you! Erik and Dotti

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerzeeboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stay here the day after our wedding, being that we werent going on our honeymoon until April. Lori was unbelievable. The place is so perfect and tranquil, and it really is like having your own home away from home. The food was outrageous, the fireplace perfect, and the hot tub was amazing. I cannot express how incredible this place is. Also, her recommendation for the Frenchtown Inn for dinner was right on the money. Thanks again for the lifetime memories!!

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWeiss44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
243 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
352 reviews
12.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The National Hotel
The National Hotel
#1 of 2 in Frenchtown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing