We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-Away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frenchtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Get-Away”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hosts are wonderful with an abundance of stories to share. The place is well appointed and comfortable. The pillows in the room were a bit hard for our tastes, but we are very picky, so we'll bring our own next time. It's nice to be in Frenchtown instead of the much busier Lambertville or New Hope. The inn is on the main road and our room was in the front on the 2nd floor (Rittenhouse room) and we noticed the noise, but it was early spring with not much traffic. We used to live next to a train station so the noise did not bother us at all. We enjoyed some of the breakfast offerings, the grilled grapefruit on Sat. morning was a delight as was the poached pear on Sunday. We've stayed at many B&B's in the area and this certainly ranked in our top 5. Go.... enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan20xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WHITE PLAINS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a much needed two day mini-cation at the Wiudow McCrea House. We stayed in the Kase Cottage. The cottage is beautifully decorated, very large and very well appointed. We appreciated the attention to the details: The cottage is very spacious with a gas fireplace with an overstuffed chair and sofa next to it. You can adjust the height of the fire. There is an entertainment cabinet with a small tv, dvd player and a wonderful music system which you can select to play the house music, cds or your ipod. The music can be played in the house and also in the wonderful Tuscan garden, which is only for the use of the cottage. Breakfast is delivered to your door. There is a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, coffee maker and all sorts of glassware, utensils, makings for tea and coffee. There was even a lighter for the tea candles which were thoughtfully included in the jacuzzi area. There were interesting books, magazines and a selection of music, in case you forgot your own. Lynn and Burt are wonderful hosts. Guests at the cottage do not eat in the main inn, but we enjoyed our chat with Burt as we were leaving. For the price, you simply can't find anything close to the quality of this experience anywhere else in the area. The town of Frenchtown is cute and there is good dining in the area. Its a short drive to New Hope and Lambertville. We hope to get back to the area some time soon. Although I like to visit new places, I would definitely return to the Kase Cottage at The Widow McCrea.

Room Tip: The Kase Cottage was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FREEDALEO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Perfect place for an unhurried , restful weekend in a relaxing, friendly environment .
Beautiful Inn with lots of Victorian charm ......... the owners are very cordial and accomodating.
We stayed in the Tuccamirgin room ......... super comfy bed , ample bathroom, terrific shower, immaculately clean room.
And the breakfast ............ wow! The breakfasts are a culinary gem ......... you will not be having lunch after this abundant meal. Both mornings we were served a 'candle-lit' 3 course breakfast ..... the starter both days was a 'bread', followed by a fruit course then the entree.
Owners are very helpful in recommending dining options and things to do.
If you have 2 vehicles you have to pay extra for a parking permit to park in the public lot that is just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaprince4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I took my husband to the Widow McCrea house for his 40th birthday. Our stay surpassed all our expectations. The breakfast were not your standard bed&breakfast fare. Every breakfast was brought to our door piping hot and delicious. The cottage was like a little home away from home. It was incredibly romantic. I would definitely recommend this to everyone. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkib64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I wanted a last minute weekend getaway and chose the Widow Mccrea. We stayed 2 nights in Jan 2012. The hosts Bert & Lynn will steer you in the right direction on things to do and places to eat. We stayed in the Anne James Suite which has a private bathroom w/a jacuzzi tub and also has a fireplace. The room was beautiful. I read a few complaints about the home being on a busy road and noisy. We did not experience this at all. The breakfast was also excellent. We will return to the Widow Mccrea ~ we always feel when you find a great place stick with it....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm53066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary by staying at the Widow McCrea House, in the Kase Family Cottage, which served as our base for a 35 mile bike ride to New Hope and back via the D&R Canal Tow Path. The accommodations were absolutely lovely, quaintly appointed and surpassed our expectations of a bed and breakfast. The cottage is a large open plan building (separate from the main house) with dining area, queen size bed, living area with gas fireplace (very convenient), kitchenette with fridge & microwave, modern ammenities such as a small flat screen TV, DVD player and iPod dock. And the bathroom is spacious with a jacuzzi tub. The private garden/patio was a wonderful place to unwind with a glass of wine after a long ride.
We failed to mention to our hosts when making the reservations that we have restricted diets, however, they rolled with it and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us, delivered to our door in a large wicker basket each morning. I can't praise them highly enough for accommodating our diets (for even ASKING in the first place!).
The ONLY downside to the cottage is that it is on a road that, while not extremely busy at night, is noisy enough to be bothersome. Fortunately we had ear plugs along for the trip and they did the trick nicely on the second night.
I can't recommend the Widow McCrea House highly enough. They aided in making our special occasion even more special than we would have hoped.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay in the Privacy Suite for our 10th Wedding anniversary. It was SO romantic, with its' lovely Victorian decor, private courtyard entrance and soothing fountain. I also really appreciated the wonderful en suite with the Jacuzzi tub, after a full day of sight seeing! It was a completely idyllic weekend... But the best part had to be the magical breakfast! You didn't have to order a thing, or make any decisions, a magical basket full of breakfast would appear each morning outside our door, packed with so much food! There was a lovely cloth for the table, hot crossoints or scones, waffles, quiche and more. We had a really lovely stay, and look forward to coming back ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladywren42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
12.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
The National Hotel
The National Hotel
#1 of 2 in Frenchtown
120 reviews
8.9 mi away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Widow McCrea House Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 53 Kingwood Ave., Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1878 Victorian B & B in historic Frenchtown NJ. Recently voted one of the top 8 places in NJ! Separate self contained Cottage with private patio garden, Spacious Suites, elegant guestrooms featuring fine antiques, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, Queen-sized feather beds, private baths. The Widow McCrea offers the perfect setting for a getaway weekend or romantic overnight. Includes candlelit gourmet breakfast or choose the Cottage and Private suite for breakfasts delivered to your doorstep. Complimentary bottle of wine in room at check in. Stroll to shops, galleries, restaurants and majestic riverscapes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian b&b
The Widow Mccrea House Victorian Hotel Frenchtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing