We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Excellent Service. Great location”

The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Frenchtown
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: NJ 12
Transit: The Link Bus (local Hunterdon County transit service), Transbridge Bus Lines (PA, NJ & NYC commuter service).
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Service. Great location”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Friendly, excellent service. Great food and amazing portions-very good prices. Small, with nice bar. Great accommodations for over-night as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I went to dinner there for our 20th wedding anniversary. Our 15 year old son joined us. We had planned on going to another restaurant in the area that we love, but it wasn't open that night. Haven't been to Hotel in years so decided to give it a try. Big mistake. They weather was bad that day so when we entered the restaurant around 7:00, the only other people were 4 girls at the bar. The owner told us we could sit anywhere. We chose a table close to the front in the back room. Our waiter was apparently the bartender, as he seemed to be more interested in the girls at the bar than waiting on us. Took forever to take our order, never picked up the wine list, just left it on our table, actually placed the condiments he brought to the table on top of the wine list. Salads came out, which were tasty, but no bread came with them. A while later, our entrees came out, my husband and I ordered fish & chips and my son ordered the bacon cheddar burger. Fish and chips very greasy, french fries were good. My son didn't like his burger at all (how can you ruin a bacon cheeseburger??). I had to get up and go to the waiters stand to get salt & pepper myself. No sign of waiter, oh yeah, he's busy talking to those girls at the bar. We are locals and definately won't go back. Only reason for poor instead of terrible is because the french fries were fresh cut and tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hahmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Attractive place with dining in bar area or restauarant. I was put off by several things: 1) manager constantly buzzing around, frowning the whole time. 2) busboy chewing gum 3) menu items way too eclectic for me...wife ordered chili...I'm still not sure what she received. I ordered a cup of soup that seemed interesting; what I received was bizarre, filled with I guess vegetables. I'm still
clueless. While the restaurant was 3/4 full, the table service was
also clueless. To be fair, my wife found it all acceptable; I did not.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJPILOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have no idea which restaurant "toonybrain" reviewed, but it couldn't have been the National. Really great burgers and wings, not to mention the best fish & chips this side of the pond. Some very welcome dishes from outside NJ also, thanks in part to the husband and wife team that own the National coming originally from India and Chile. When it's on the menu, the gumbo is some of the best that I've had outside of New Orleans too. Downstairs bar has a terrific bartender and a friendly local crowd with music on the weekends. Can't go wrong here really.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and the staff was great. We totally enjoyed our stay. We only had appetizers once and wished we had had dinner here also. We had the lamb sliders and they were packed full of flavor. Loved them! Unfortunately the muffins for continental breakfast were super dry both mornings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgenie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The National Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing