We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The National Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
77
23
15
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
23
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruffle friesupstairs barfront porchgreat ambienceopen mic nightmarlonperkselizabeth
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 127 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Frenchtown was picked for our first night stay for the upcoming 15-day USA trip. We started from New York heading down to Nashville. After long day of flight and driving, Frenchtown and National Hotel was such an nice place to relax. Excellent and helpful service all around and the historic old house is excellent for those who can't stand regular hotels/motels. Good choice for our stay!

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Jukka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2015

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We're so happy that your trip to the USA started off on a good note by choosing The National Hotel and Frenchtown. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our little corner of the world. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015

This beautiful hotel was such a lovely surprise. It is an absolute gem in a charming town. Marlon our host was extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us when one of our party lost her passport from our previous hotel.
The hotel itself has that old-world charm on the outside, but inside the rooms are immaculately clean and very large. We had a double room which included 2 queen-sized canopied beds. Absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. When we first walked in we loved it so much we had to take photos!
All the amenities were included and the wifi was great.
Frenchtown itself is such a wonderful quaint town with so much history, the beautiful Delaware river and charming shops.
We had a wonderful visit and I cannot recommend it any more highly! I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathykoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2015

I've shared this review with Marlon and our staff on different opportunities--and your kind review truly means a lot to all of us. I know you stayed with us over the summer, but I would be remiss if I didn't reach out to you to let you know how grateful we are that you chose The National Hotel for your overnight stay, as well as Frenchtown. As you said in your review, "Frenchtown itself is such a wonderful quaint town with so much history, the beautiful Delaware river and charming shops." Right on the mark! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

We were a little surprised by the first glance of the hotel. It is obviously old & could use some work....but the staff more than made up for it. The manager, Marlon, was friendly & helpful as was the other manager, Maria & her daughter. Dylan, the upstairs bartender, & Donna, the downstairs bartender, were equally friendly & attentive. The food & drinks were very tasteful & plentiful. Everyone went out of the way to make sure we got whatever we needed.....in fact the whole town was that way This little 1800s hotel & town is definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Do not get the room with a double bed; go for the queen!
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words. In fact, Frenchtown itself is considered by many to be a "hidden gem," the exact words you used to describe The National Hotel. What wonderful feedback to receive, especially b/c it looks like you really got a comprehensive look at our establishment, from the hotel side to the Restaurant & Bar, to our cellar tavern, The Rathskeller Pub. Incredible! Thank you once again for making the time to share your thoughts, which I am sure will be helpful to future visitors too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015

When we pulled up to the National Hotel we were a bit concerned about our decision. Marlin our host was very nice. When he opened the door to our room our jaws literally dropped. It was the most beautiful room I've ever inhabited. My most high praise continues to go to Marlin. He seated us for dinner, poured our water at dinner, greeted us at Trivia night, participated in Trivia Night and went above and beyond the normal standards of modern day hotel service.
Our motto of this stay was "Don't judge a book by its cover" .

Room Tip: The photos on the website are accurate.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

We were thrilled to read your review, because you captured Marlon's incredible dedication to The National Hotel in just 1 paragraph! He is amazing, always going out of his way to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended. It's an incredible feeling that is almost indescribable to have a guest recognize his quiet but attentive style, his incredible humility and yet his absolute commitment to customer service. Thank you beyond words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015

Our stay began by being greeted by the ever so personable, kind, and totally engaged, Marlon. I knew immediately our time here was going to be terrific~~and so it was!

Our room was very clean, and comfortable. With the house cleaning staff it remained that way for the entire 3 days. The restaurant staff and food were outstanding. Again, so very well connected, not only to all of our needs, but they were very authentic and genuine people to be around, and this made our stay so much more enJoyable.

Thank you again to all of you, Marlon especially, for making everything run so smooth. No doubt you will see us again.

Toni & Jimmy Mineo

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Toni & Jimmy: What a treat to read your review, your incredible praise for our dedicated GM, Marlon Aranha, and your complimentary words about our housekeeping staff! Thank you so very much. We are also grateful to you for so exquisitely describing your experience in our Restaurant & Bar, and capturing the essence of those who work at The National Hotel--they care, they truly want to please our patrons and make sure they enjoy their time in Frenchtown, NJ. Thank you once again, and we love that you closed your review with, "No doubt you will see us again." How wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews